Staff Report

Follow Me

Back to: News
December 16, 2009
Follow News

Incline football: Team earns four all-league awards, all-state nod for kicker Perez-Gomez

INCLINE VILLAGE, Nev. — Coaches couldn’t help but take notice of Irvin Perez-Gomez’s powerful right leg.

The junior lineman was voted by coaches to both the Northern 2A All-League and Class 2A All-State first team as a punter, and to the All-League first team and All-State second team as a kicker, for his stellar 2009 season. It was a season that included a number of 40-plus-yard field goals, and even a 50-yarder against rival North Tahoe. He was the only Highlander to earn All-State recognition.

Joining Perez-Gomez on the All-League selections were teammates Jimmy Markman, a junior, on the offensive line, senior Tyler Cramer at linebacker and sophomore Pat Murray at defensive back. All three were voted to the All-League second team.

Dylan Bloyd of Pershing County was voted Northern 2A MVP and Tim Knight of Battle Mountain Coach of the Year, while in All-State voting, Mike Lake of Battle Mountain was voted MVP and Frank DeSantis of The Meadows was Coach of the Year.

MVP: Dylan Bloyd, Pershing County, 12

Offensive Player: Michael Lake, Battle Mountain, 12

Defensive Player: Matt Miller, Battle Mountain, 12

Lineman of the Year: Michael Sylvester, ROP, 12

Coach of the Year: Tim Knight, Battle Mountain


Quarterback: Damian Garry, ROP, 12

Running back: Jeramiah Wright, ROP, 12

Running back: Cody Nelson, Whittell, 12

Running back: Cody Gibson, Pershing County, 12

Receiver: Marcus Smith, ROP, 12

Receiver: Davon Menefee, ROP, 12

Receiver: Jake Schummaker, Pershing County, 12

Tight end: Matt Miller, Battle Mountain, 12

Offensive line: Brandon Norris, North Tahoe, 12

Offensive line: Zack Knox, Battle Mountain, 12

Offensive line: Jorge Cisneros, ROP, 12

Offensive line: Nick Warner, Whittell, 12

Offensive line: Ricky Ortiz, Pershing County, 12

Return specialist: Darrion Gary, ROP, 12

Defensive line: Parker Laughlin, North Tahoe, 12

Defensive line: Nick Warner, Whittell, 12

Defensive line: Jacob Anderson, ROP, 12

Defensive line: Jameson Pettigrew, Battle Mountain, 11

Defensive line: Justin Hultenschmidt, Pershing County, 12

Linebacker: Mike Lake, Battle Mountain, 12

Linebacker: Leo Angelov, ROP, 12

Linebacker: Cody Nelson, Whittell, 12

Linebacker: Brian Smokey, Pershing County, 10

Defensive back: Leroy Valadez, North Tahoe, 12

Defensive back: Jake Harkness, Battle Mountain, 12

Defensive back: Rosean Wagner, ROP, 11

Defensive back: Jesse Williamson, Pershing County, 12

Punter: Irvin Perez-Gomez, Incline, 11

Kicker: Irvin Perez-Gomez, Incline, 11


Quarterback: Matt Newgard, Battle Mountain, 12

Running back: Phil Gielow, Whittell, 12

Running back: Antonio Paredes, Pershing County, 12

Running back: Forrest Wiens, North Tahoe, 12

Running back: Justin Gray, Battle Mountain, 12

Receiver: Luis Cox, 12

Receiver: Adam Laub, Whittell, 12

Tight end: Aaron Riggs, Battle Mountain, 12

Offensive line: Tyler Craspay, Pershing County, 12

Offensive line: Leo Angelov, ROP, 12

Offensive line: Hunter Morgan, Whittell, 10

Offensive line: Chris Gomez, ROP, 11

Offensive line: Jimmy Markman, Incline, 11

Return specialist: Cody Nelson, Whittell, 12

Defensive line: Michael Boyce, ROP, 11

Defensive line: Matt Schorr, Whittell, 11

Defensive line: Justin Blend, North Tahoe, 11

Defensive line: Ricky Ortiz, Pershing County, 12

Defensive line: Cody Gibson, Pershing County, 12

Linebacker: Tyler Cramer, Incline, 12

Linebacker: Andrew Auerbach, North Tahoe, 12

Linebacker: Justin Gray, Battle Mountain, 12

Linebacker: Phil Gielow, Whittell, 12

Defensive back: Pat Murray, Incline, 10

Defensive back: Jake Williams, Whittell, 10

Defensive back: Antonio Paredes, Pershing County, 12

Defensive back: Patrick Delgado, ROP, 11

Punter: Austin Buyak, Whittell, 9

Kicker: Daniel Ponce, ROP, 12

Honorable mention: Matthew Shorr, offensive line; Michael Koskin, defensive line; Sam Harris, offensive line.

Most Valuable Player: Mike Lake, Battle Mountain

Offensive Player of the Year: Garrett Gosse, The Meadows

Defensive Player of the Year: Matt Miller, Battle Mountain

Lineman of the Year: Andrew Duddleston, The Meadows

Coach of the Year: Frank DeSantis, The Meadows


QB: Dylan Bloyed, Pershing County

RB: Cortland LeBoeuf, Mountain View

RB: Jeremiah Wright, Rite of Passage

RB: Justin Cox, Calvary Chapel

WR: Dylan Lee, Meadows

WR: Austin Brown, Meadows

WR: Jake Schumacher, Pershing County

TE: Jeremy Avery, Lincoln County

OL: Michael Sylvester, Rite of Passage

OL: Jake Burgess, Lincoln County

OL: Zach Knox, Battle Mountain

OL: Nick Warner, Whittell

OL: Ricky Ortiz, Pershing County

DL: Dylan Lee, Meadows

DL: Jake Burgess, Lincoln County

DL: Parker Laughlin, North Tahoe

DL: Jameson Pettigrew, Battle Mountain

DL: Michael Sylvester, Rite of Passage

LB: Steven Abdelsayed, Mountain View

LB: Brian Smokey, Pershing County

LB: Josh Raimist, Meadows

LB: Cody Nelson, Whittell

DB: Austin Brown, Meadows

DB: Jake Harkness, Battle Mountain

DB: Justyn Anderson, MVCS

K: Dylan Lee, Meadows

P: Irvin Perez-Gomez, Incline

KR: Darrion Garry, Rite of Passage


QB: T.J. Engel, Mountain View

RB: Cody Nelson, Whittell

RB: Cody Gibson, Pershing County

RB: Travis Sonneberg, Lincoln County

WR: Marcus Smith, Rite of Passage

WR: Davon Menefee, Rite of Passage

WR: Karl Benjamin , Mountain View

TE: Matt Miller, Battle Mountain

OL: Jorge Cisneros, Rite of Passage

OL: Brandon Norris, North Tahoe

OL: Nick Reill, Mountain View

OL: Josh Raimist, Meadows

OL: Daniel Solomon, Needles

OL: Bryan McKenzie, Calvary Chapel

DL: Nick Warner, Whittell

DL: Jacob Anderson, Rite of Passage

DL: Justin Hultenschmidt, Pershing County

DL: Henry Santos, Mountain View

DL: Justin Cox, Calvary Chapel

DL: Jeremiah Wright, Needles

LB: Leopina Angilau, Rite of Passage

LB: Karl Benjamin , MVCS

LB: Cody Taylor, Calvary Chapel

LB: Josef Guzman, Needles

LB: Bruce Condie, Lincoln County

DB: Leroy Valadez, North Tahoe

DB: Roesean Waggoner, Rite of Passage

DB: Jesse Williamson, Pershing County

DB: Cody Moreno, Calvary Chapel

K: Irvin Perez-Gomez, Incline

P: Jeremy Avery, Lincoln County

KR: Bruce Condie, Lincoln County

Stories you may be interested in

Tahoe Daily Tribune Updated Dec 16, 2009 01:06PM Published Dec 16, 2009 01:03PM Copyright 2009 Tahoe Daily Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.