Jean EickSpecial to the Bonanza

Back to: News
April 17, 2012
Follow News

Under the Big Top at Parasol's AmeriCorps Carnival

INCLINE VILLAGE, Nev. — “What a great event,” says Jackie Viviano. “AmeriCorps members are making the world a better place.”Viviano was a volunteer recognized by the Parasol AmeriCorps members during the 2012 Volunteer Appreciation Carnival, which took place this past weekend under the big top created inside the Boys andamp; Girls Club gym by Parasol's AmeriCorps volunteers, as outside the Tahoe snow that did not arrive for winter decided to make an appearance.The 2012 Volunteer Appreciation Carnival recognized community volunteers that help nonprofits fulfill their missions. Volunteers were invited to play carnival games, have their fortunes told or photos taken by Dayle Hoevel, the official carnival photographer.They also had an opportunity to partake of traditional carnival food — cotton candy, popcorn and hot dogs. All the usual carnival characters were on hand to assist throughout the evening — the strongman, the fortune teller, a few monkeys and lots of other interesting characters. Costumes were provided by Linda Offerdahl of Dress the Part(y).“It had so much creative energy and restored my belief in what young people can achieve with a little work,” said Kathy Peltier, another volunteer honored at the event.The highlight of the evening was definitely the Pie Raffle. Everyone participating in the carnival games and activities received a raffle ticket and winners selected a pie to take home.Community volunteers honored at the Carnival: Nancy Barrett, Heidi Goheri, Rob Gilmore, Alan Castator, Ellen Castator, Dan Flores, Amy Kelley, Julie Thew, John Neary, Chris Neufeld, Ozulado Hernandez, Dayle Hoevel, Lauren Keller, Tony Chirico, Jack Schroeder, Steve Hamilton, Lauren Swanson, Howard Beckerman, Craig Bower, Gail Etchells, Greg Holm, Al Keiser, Clay Prescott, Mike Pyzyk, Bill Reid, Olivia Palomino, Marnie, Sanford, Diana Schlaff, Connie Lang, Anga Rebane, Viki Boyeson, Karen Bohannan-Reed, Carla Law, Ann Lyman, Carolyn Pretzer, Katherine Straus, Dave Ziegler, Diane Miller, Bill Cox, Tim Hauserman, Ro Martinoni, Wayne McClelland, Kathy Peltier, Jackie Viviano, Sam Viviano, Bill Weik , Art Berliner, Michael Durand, Jordan Summers.— Jean Eick is the communications manager for the Parasol Tahoe Community Foundation.

Stories you may be interested in

Tahoe Daily Tribune Updated Apr 17, 2012 08:46PM Published Apr 17, 2012 08:44PM Copyright 2012 Tahoe Daily Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.