Staff Report

Follow Me

Back to: News
November 6, 2012
Follow News

Election 2012: IVGID race results to be published tonight

INCLINE VILLAGE, Nev. - Today, millions of Americans went to the polls on Election Day to vote for the next President of the United States, and locally, hundreds of residents did the same and cast ballots for a variety of political races and state propositions - and perhaps most importantly, on a quartet of local races.

In Nevada, the polls remain open until 7 p.m., and depending on the state's ability to travel with and count votes this year, results should start being published within an hour.

The Bonanza will begin publishing updated stories of the local races as the results come in, and will have full results up as soon as possible. But for those readers too eager to wait, real-time results can be accessed as they're updated on the Washoe County website by visiting the following link:

There are four major local races in which Incline/Crystal Bay residents can vote in this presidential election year.

In regard to the Incline Village General Improvement District Board of Trustees, three seats are open - those of Bea Epstein, Ted Fuller and Chuck Weinberger. Fuller and Weinberger are outgoing trustees.

Voters are asked to choose 3 of the following 6 candidates: Jim Smith, Jim Hammerel, George Del Carlo, Bill Devine, Epstein (incumbent) and Tim Callicrate.

There are five candidates for three seats on the North Lake Tahoe Fire Protection District Board of Trustees. The open seats are those held by Chris Plastiras, Dale Smith and Wayne Fischer - Plastiras is the lone outgoing director.

Voters are asked to choose 3 of the following 5 candidates: Smith (incumbent), Fischer (incumbent), Paul Zahler, Steve King and Chris May.

At the county level, Seat No. 1 in the Washoe County Commission is up, as current commissioner John Breternitz opted to not file for re-election. Seat No. 1 includes Incline/Crystal Bay, and the race is between Marsha Berkbigler, a Republican; and Andrew Diss, a Democrat.

As for the Washoe County School District Board of Trustees District A seat - which includes Incline/Crystal Bay - outgoing trustee Dan Carne will be replaced by either Lisa Ruggerio or Dale Richardson.

Stories you may be interested in

Tahoe Daily Tribune Updated Nov 6, 2012 08:02PM Published Nov 6, 2012 07:59PM Copyright 2012 Tahoe Daily Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.