Staff Report

Follow Me

Back to: News
November 21, 2012
Follow News

All-League football | Christian voted MVP, Zak Pettit Defensive Player of Year

All-League football selections were released recently for Northern Division I-A and Division III, with Truckee's Graham Christian and Zak Pettit receiving the highest recognition.

Christian was voted MVP of the new Division I-A North, formerly the Northern 3A, while Pettit was voted Defensive Player of the Year. Truckee coach Bob Shaffer was Coach of the Year.

The awards are voted on by the coaches.

In Division I-A North voting, Truckee's Benito Gurrola was named to the first team on both the offensive and defensive lines. Truckee's Julian Aguirre made the first team at linebacker, Javier Virrey at safety and Tyler Griffin as a return specialist.

Griffin also was named to the second team as a wide receiver, while a number of Wolverines received honorable mention recognition. They include Erik Holmer at both quarterback and linebacker, Tyler Curtis at running back and defensive line, Nico Duner on both lines, Aguirre on the offensive line and as a punter, Jake Pettit at safety, and Louden Smith as a kicker.

South Tahoe quarterback John Cefalu was Offensive Player of the Year and Trevor Parsons of Fallon was the Lineman of the Year. Calvin Connors of Lowry and Morgan Dirickson of Fallon were second and first team quarterbacks, respectively.

In the Division III North, the Lakers' Buster Fenley was voted to the second team as a linebacker and Baird Bishop received honorable mention.

Jarden Jensen of Pershing County was voted MVP, Jacob Flores of Pershing County was Offensive Player of the Year, Sam Monahan of Yerington was Defensive Player of the Year and Satini Kavauka of Pershing County was Lineman of the Year. Dave McLean of state champion Pershing County was Coach of the Year.

All-State selections have not been released.

Stories you may be interested in

Tahoe Daily Tribune Updated Nov 21, 2012 07:35PM Published Nov 21, 2012 07:33PM Copyright 2012 Tahoe Daily Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.