Katie Fagundes
Special to the Bonanza

Back to: News
December 4, 2012
Follow News

Nominate a North Shore educator for 2nd annual teacher of the year program

TAHOE/TRUCKEE - Truckee Hometown Sears and the Sierra Sun and North Lake Tahoe Bonanza announce the 2nd annual Truckee Hometown Sears-Sierra Sun Teacher of the Year award program. The program recognizes area teachers, spotlighting them in the Sierra Sun and Bonanza and naming one teacher "Teacher of the Year." Parents, students and community members are encouraged to submit teacher nominations starting today.

This year, Truckee Hometown Sears and the Sierra Sun/Bonanza will partner with Plumas Bank to continue honoring local teachers. Plumas Bank, with locations in both Truckee and North Lake Tahoe, strives to be involved in the local community.

"Community and education are top priorities at Plumas Bank and we are taking this opportunity to let our teachers and our local communities know how much we appreciate all they do for our children," said Plumas VP/Office Manager Shelly Wright.

Last year, the Teacher of the Year selection committee received numerous nominations praising teachers from across the Tahoe/Truckee area. The selection committee is looking for nominees who excite students about learning, collaborate with community members and inspire those around them. This year the program has expanded to include public schools in Incline Village.

"The Truckee Hometown Sears-Sierra Sun Teacher of the Year program was created to recognize teachers in the entire North Lake Tahoe area," said Charlie Riley, Truckee Hometown Sears owner. "We hope to receive even more nominations this year and spotlight teachers from all area schools, including the three schools in Incline Village."

Last year, teacher finalists were nominated from Glenshire Elementary School, Truckee Elementary School, Donner Trail Elementary School, Alder Creek Middle School, North Tahoe School, and Truckee High School. Teachers Joanne Haddy, Lisa Furr, Katie Jamison, Michelle Reed, Amalia Niewendorp, Neysa Williams and Diane Laroche were spotlighted in the Sierra Sun.

The selection committee named Lisa Furr winner of the Truckee Hometown Sears-Sierra Sun Teacher of the Year last June. Furr was recognized for her work with the Truckee Special Education Transition program. Furr's work with students with special needs focuses on life skills as well as academic content. Nominators praised her commitment to students and ability to collaborate with community members to create an excellent program.

To participate in the Teacher of the Year program, nominators may email nominations to truckeetahoeteacheroftheyear@gmail.com, drop off nominations at Truckee Hometown Sears, 12047 Donner Pass Road, or drop off nominations at a local Plumas Bank.

Nominations should include the teacher's name and school and the nominator's relationship to the teacher (parent, student, community member). The selection committee encourages nominators to include details and examples describing why their teacher should be selected Teacher of the Year. There is no limit on the number of nominations an individual may submit.

Stories you may be interested in

Tahoe Daily Tribune Updated Dec 4, 2012 07:12PM Published Dec 4, 2012 07:10PM Copyright 2012 Tahoe Daily Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.