Staff Report

Follow Me

Back to: News
December 13, 2012
Follow News

Truckee football | Graham Christian voted state MVP; Zak Pettit Defensive Player of Year

Six Truckee football players were honored with selections to the Division I-A All-State team, with two of them receiving elite honors.

Senior linebacker and running back Graham Christian was voted state MVP, while senior teammate Zak Pettit, a defensive end and tight end, was voted Defensive Player of the Year. In addition, Truckee head coach Bob Shaffer was named Coach of the Year after leading the Wolverines to a fourth consecutive state championship.

The awards were voted on by the Division I-A coaches.

Aside from Christian and Pettit, Benito Gurrola was voted to the first team as an offensive lineman and to the second team as a defensive lineman, Tyler Griffin was voted to the first team as a return specialist, and Javier Virrey made the first team at safety. Julian Aguirre was voted to the All-State second team at linebacker.

Running back Myloe Lewis of Cheyenne was the Offensive Player of the Year, and Cody Tolbert of Moapa Valley was the Lineman of the Year.

Stories you may be interested in

Tahoe Daily Tribune Updated Dec 13, 2012 07:20PM Published Dec 13, 2012 07:16PM Copyright 2012 Tahoe Daily Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.