Staff Report

Follow Me

Back to: News
December 24, 2012
Follow News

Spencer Eusden, Annika Taylor claim wins in Classic Sprints

In whiteout conditions, Spencer Eusden and Annika Taylor raced to respective wins in the Classic Sprints at Auburn Ski Club this past Saturday. A total of 56 people took part in the 1-kilometer sprint race, which took place in a blizzard atop Donner Summit. Taylor won the women's race in a time of 4:25 to runner-up Katrin Larusson's 4:29.7. Holly Whitney was third in 4:36.2, and was followed by Ellie Phillips in 4:49.1 and Hannah Halvorsen in 4:51.7. Joelle Romo (4:58) was sixth, followed by Danielle Nivinski (5:06.2), Bria Riggs (5:16.9), Amanda Kirkeby (5:18.9) and Camille Hartley (5:29.3) rounding out the top 10.On the men's side, Eusden took the win just ahead of Patrick McElravey and Alex Hamilton, as he posted a time of 3:44.3 to McElravey's 3:44.8 and Hamilton's 3:44.9.Paul Novacs came in fourth in a time of 3:51.5 and Dylan Syben was fifth in 4:02.3. Alex Kopytko was sixth in 4:09.6, Peter Holmes was seventh in 4:10.7, Sam Zabell eighth in 4:16.7, Evan Vomund ninth in 4:16.9 and Brandon Herhusky 10th in 4:17.4.The race served as a Junior Olympic qualifer. For photos from the race, go to For more photos from the race, go to!i=2286628385&k=FvB6bqK.

Stories you may be interested in

Tahoe Daily Tribune Updated Dec 24, 2012 05:42PM Published Dec 24, 2012 05:19PM Copyright 2012 Tahoe Daily Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.