Staff Report

Follow Me

Back to: News
February 20, 2013
Follow News

Nordic racing | President's Cup race draws large crowd

More than 100 participants enjoyed sunny skies and ideal cross-country skiing conditions for the President's Cup race at Auburn Ski Club on Monday.

Far West Farm Team racers once again led the charge, as Wyatt Fereday claimed the win in the men's 10-kilometer race in a time of 20:38.4, while Spencer Eusden was second in 20:39.9. Patrick McElravey rounded out the men's top three in 20:42.8.

Incline Village skiers Peter Hanson finished ninth in 22:51.9 and Evan Vomund 12th in 23:17.0.

Holly Whitney won the women's 10K and placed 16th overall, posting a time of 23:48.6, while Julie Young was the second woman in 26:37.4 and Laura Stern was third in 26:47.6.

The event also included a 5K and a junior 2K.

Dylan Syben won the men's 5K wave in a time of 10:24.3. He was followed by Julien Bordes (10:59.7) and Ryland Belisle (11:10.8), while Incline's Brandon Herhusky finished seventh in 12:24.3. Hannah Halvorsen won the women's 5K in 11:56.9, Danielle Nivinski was second in 12:19.2 and Lizzie Larkins third in 12:21.2.

Haydn Halvorsen took the win in the boys 2K, finishing in 7:03.2. KC Larkins was second in 7:40.4 and Bjorn Halvorsen was third in 7:59.7. Kianna Mullings claimed victory in the girls 2K in a time of 7:07.7 and was followed by Natalie Andersson (9:05.6) and Caitlin Smith (9:06.1).

The CNISSF Truckee Sprints also went down at Auburn Ski Club on Friday.

The North Tahoe boys dominated the final heat of the race, as they took the top three spots and five of the top six, while the Truckee and Sugar Bowl Academy girls took seven of the top eight places in their final.

The spectator-friendly race, which is traditionally held at Truckee's Surprise Stadium, was moved to ASC due to a lack of snow at the school.

Each athlete skied a preliminary lap to determine his or her time, and the fastest 32 racers were then put into quarterfinal heats of eight. The top four racers from the quarterfinal heats advanced to the semifinal round, while the top four from the two semis met in the final.

Sugar Bowl Academy's Katrin Larusson recorded a win in the varsity girls race, as she reached the finish line in the final eight-person heat ahead of Truckee racers Gabrielle Rinne and Larkins.

It was Syben's turn to claim a win for North Tahoe in the varsity boys event, as he edged teammate McElravey by a hair in the final heat. Holmes, of North Tahoe, was third, while SBA's Sam Zabell broke up the Lakers' party with a fourth-place finish. North Tahoe's Shane Christian was fifth, Bordes sixth, SBA's Peter Carroll seventh and Truckee's Alex Kopytko eighth.

Vomund finished 10th, Brandon Herhusky 16th and Owen Graffis 33rd. Meghan Kelley was 20th among varsity girls.

Find complete results at Find a photo gallery from the Truckee Sprints at, and a gallery from the President's Cup race at

Stories you may be interested in

Tahoe Daily Tribune Updated Feb 20, 2013 08:28PM Published Feb 20, 2013 08:24PM Copyright 2013 Tahoe Daily Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.