College scholarship programs announces most successful year |

College scholarship programs announces most successful year

Provided to the Tribune

Erica Faye Ledbetter scholarship winners will share $20,000 thanks to Jessica Ledbetter’s donation, which doubled the award amount this year.

Lake Tahoe Community College's scholarship program had its most successful year in 2012-13.

In June, LTCC awarded $81,000 — the most in the college's history — to help 66 students continue their education by providing funds to cover the costs of tuition, textbooks and other resources necessary for academic success.

The Camp Richardson scholarship was launched this year by LTCC alumni and Camp Richardson owners Bob and Tammy Hassett, who donated $10,000 to start it off. Christopher Sidell was one of four students who was awarded $1,000 from the scholarship. Sidell is transferring to the University of California at Davis this fall, where he will major in viticulture and enology.

The Lyra B. Fisher Memorial Scholarship was recently established by TRiO-SSS Specialist Anna Lee in memory of a student who was a victim of domestic violence.

"Lyra was an amazing woman, a hardworking student, and a dedicated mother, and I am thrilled that the first of many scholarships honoring her memory has been awarded to a woman who is working as hard as Lyra was to improve her life through education," Lee stated in a press release.

"As a single mother and domestic violence prevention advocate, the scholarship itself holds tremendous meaning for me," scholarship winner Deanne Belardino said.

Recommended Stories For You

Student Richard Gonzalez earned a $500 Performing Arts League scholarship and the Erica Faye Ledbetter scholarship fund provided a total of $20,000 to its winners.

To contribute to or start a scholarship fund, contact Peter Bostic at or 530-541-4660, ext. 245.

Go back to article