Krolicki chosen to lead 150th celebration |

Krolicki chosen to lead 150th celebration

One of Douglas County’s 150 most influential people will lead Nevada’s 150th Anniversary Commission, Gov. Brian Sandoval announced on Wednesday.Stateline resident Lt. Gov. Brian Krolicki was named the chairman of the commissionThe governor appointed 13 members to the commission from across the state to assist in the planning and coordination of events and projects that celebrate the sesquicentennial anniversary of Nevada’s admission to the union, Oct. 31, 1864.In addition to Krolicki, commission members are historian and author Patricia Cafferata, Smith Center for the Performing Arts President and CEO Myron Martin, UNLV Professor Andrew Kirk, Nevada Indian Commission Executive Director Sherry Rupert, John Tyson, Kathleen “Neena” Laxalt, Elko Convention and Visitors Authority Executive Director Donald Newman, Las Vegas Review Journal Publisher Bob Brown, Bud Hicks, attorney McDonald Carano Wilson; Station Casinos Vice President of Corporate Communications Lori Nelson, R&R Partners Chief Strategic Officer Randall Snow and former Las Vegas Mayor Oscar Goodman.The commission, which will be responsible for its own staffing, will also deliver a quarterly report to the Governor.“The Nevada of my youth was a place of pride, activity, optimism and opportunity. This has long been our state’s heritage and it will be our future as well,” Sandoval said. “I am pleased that each of these Nevadans has agreed to serve our state and help us celebrate our state’s rich history and bright future. I look forward to working with them.”

Go back to article