Tahoe Tennis Classic this weekend | TahoeDailyTribune.com

Tahoe Tennis Classic this weekend

Special to the Tribune

ZEPHYR COVE, Nev. – The 29th annual Tahoe Classic tennis tournament is set for this weekend at the Zephyr Cove Tennis Complex.

There are 11 divisions andatches begin at 7:45 a.m. Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Bring a lawn chair and food and beverages are available on site.

The most balanced event will be the Men’s B division. Ross Rittiman and Mike Espinosa have earned the top seed. John Pescio and Gary Fanucchi will be the second seed. James Jaehnig returns to the Classic after a long absence and will team with Neil Trebotich, and they earned the third seed. Jimmy Mungia returns to Tahoe and will play with Dave Altman. The father and son team of Wolfgang and Chris Mueller will also compete.

The Mixed B division has Tahoe’s Jenny Bentley. She will team with Carson City’s Wally Murray. They have been awarded the top seed. The Zephyr Cove husband and wife team of Ross and Holly Rittiman has garnered the second seed. Ray Fugitt will team with Tricia Ward as the number three seed. The number four seed spot is rounded out with the team of Jim Bilicki and Larraine Daniel. Gordy Stroud will partner with his wife Pam.

The Mixed C division will field several competitive teams. Last year’s champions Judy and Marc Spellman have been seeded second, with the top seed filled by the Reno team of Mark Miller and Elisbeth Grossman. The North Shore team of Hannelore and Duanne Catania will be the third seed. South Shore players Melissa Jester and Leo Schools, along with Grant Thompson and Carolyn Wright will also be playing in the Mixed C division.

A popular division is the Century group. This event requires that the combined ages of the team adds up to at least 100 years old. Last year’s champs Mark Peterson and Randy Houston will again be the top seed. Zephyr Cove Tennis Club pro Rob Wheatley will team with local Bob Beutenmiller as the second seed. Perhaps the best team in this division is Dick Johnson and Dave Reinhart. Johnson was recently named to the National 65 team and he will be one of several players representing the United States in Croatia this fall. Teaching pro Craig Gorbach and Randy Gardner will partner as well, along with Blayde Bynum and Don Blessen.

Recommended Stories For You

There is also the Super Century event, in which the combined ages of the team must equal a minimum of 130 years. Hersh Herschman says since he and his partner Tad Yukawa were lucky enough to have won the Super Century last year, they will be the number one seed this year. David Lee will team with Johnson. Dennis Bowers teams with Paul Mullis. Jim Bilicki will partner with Stan Wilkins – finalists in the Super Century division last year.

The premiere event of the tournament is usually the Men’s A division. Former Tahoe resident Colin Moulton, now of San Diego, is back to defend his title. He will team with Dave Reinhart. Another of the tournament’s outstanding players is John Spoerl who will be teaming with Steve Fabela. Randy Houston and Mark Peterson have earned the third seed. Don Blessen and Mike Norton will be seeded fourth. Father and son combo Dave and DJ Jaehnig could create a lot of problems in the Men’s A draw.

Even though it may be the event with the smallest draw in the tournament the Women’s A dvision could prove to be the most competitive. Last year’s champion will team with last year’s finalist Isabella Kling Norton as the top seed. First time participant Chris Ramsower Pearlstein will partner with Leslie Haughney. They make up the second seed. Carol Akre also comes to the Classic for the first time. She will team with Janice Mota. Incline Village sisters, Carol Zwick and Claire Perry, are the fourth seed.

The Mixed A division will feature Kling Norton and Mike Norton as the tourney’s top seed. Akre and Ulrich Capaul will be the second seed. Keri Mills and Steve Fabela have merited the third seed. John Spoerl will team with Oksama Grokholsky as the fourth seed.

In the Women’s B division Joyce Youngs and Jenny Bentley will be the top seed. The tandem of Sally Huttenmayer and Holly Rittiman will be the second seed. Claudia Giacomini and Donna Ringer will be the third seed. Always a Classic favorite, Kay Brooks will team with Tricia Ward as the fourth seed.

The Women’s C division should be very interesting. This year, Suzy Allione will team with Diane Sheridan as the top seed. They will be hard pressed by Gerri Shackelford and Jeanette Rollyson. Mary Scheuer and Susan Gesner have earned the third seed. Last year’s champion, Carolyn Wright, will partner with Brenda Stewart as the fourth seed. Melissa Jester and Tina Fobel will also compete in the division.

Complete info about the event can be read at http://www.tahoeclassic.net.

Go back to article