United Way names officers for 2013 board of directors, steering committee member | TahoeDailyTribune.com

United Way names officers for 2013 board of directors, steering committee member

Provided to the Tribune

United Way of Northern Nevada and the Sierra has announced its 2013 board of directors and officers.

Mary-Ann Andrews- Merrett, vice president of operation/business development for Sage International Inc., will serve as board chair. Other 2013 officers elected include: Vice Chair Mendy Elliott, Forte’ LLP; Treasurer Rick Gorman, Reno-Tahoe Airport Authority; Secretary Shera Alberti-Annunzio, assistant director of professional development and certificate programs liaison at the University of Nevada; Immediate Past Chair Curtis McElwee, manager plant accounting at NV Energy; and Karen Barsell, chief executive officer and president of UWNNS.

Other UWNNS board members who have been elected include: Laurie Carson, owner of Hay-U Hay Company and White Pine county commissioner; Nancy Hamilton, vice president and community development officer for Wells Fargo in Nevada; Richard “Hank” James, manager of corporate services for Wells Rural Electric Company; Nancy Leuenhagen, community relations manager for Washoe County; Teena Parduhn, supply chain senior manager of JC Penney Reno Logistics Center; Greg Boyer, chief executive officer for Renown Health; Nancy Brown, senior manager of community development at Charles Schwab Bank; Mitch Cohen, district manager for U.S. Bank; Larry DeVincenzi, creative marketing consultant at SmartBrand; Bonnie Drinkwater, Esq., Drinkwater Law Offices; Tom Karls, division manager at UPS; Tom Pfoh, pricing systems leader at GE Energy; Kris Wells, area manager, external affairs for AT and Ron McLemore, general manager of the Walmart Distribution Center in the Tahoe-Reno Industrial Center.

Senior Vice President Kelsey Piechocki has been selected to serve on the 211US Steering Committee. Piechocki is one of six new representatives who will serve a two-year term and will join 13 current members of the Committee. She is the first representative from Nevada to ever be elected to the committee.

211US Steering Committee members are nominated from providers, advocates and supporters of the 2-1-1 system and are selected from each of the 10 FEMA regions. Piechocki will provide leadership to drive the 211US work plan objectives including telecommunications, resource generation and quality assurance. The work plan will focus efforts to a great degree on multi-level national conversations about integrating 2-1-1 systems throughout the country to better serve the needs of the public.

Go back to article