Whittell soccer stands among best | TahoeDailyTribune.com

Whittell soccer stands among best

Courtesy of Boyd Dangtongdee Senior Sierra Forvilly keeps her eye on the ball during a home game in September. The defender was named first team All-League.

All in all it’s been a good year for the Warrior soccer teams.

Both the boys and girls took second at state and cleaned up in All-League selections when the roster was released this week. Both teams each claimed eight spots on the All-League roster.

Boys pack All-League

For the boys, goalkeeper Austin Neil, midfielder Mark Waite and defender Spenser Buchholz were named to first team.

No big surprise that Austin Neil was named first team goalkeeper. The guy was a beast in the box this year. He recorded more than 70 saves on goal and served up 12 shutouts during regular season.

Buchholz was a big part of those shutouts. The lightning-fast defender covered the backfield like the equivalent of two players.

Recommended Stories For You

Midfielder Waite made the most of what was fed up to him. During the postseason he netted five goals for the Warriors.

Defender Rodney Aguirre-Rodriguez and midfielder Marshall Neil were named to second team All-League. Marshall Neil recorded four goals for the Warriors during the regional semifinals to ensure a state playoff trip.

Midfielder Bryce Bronken, defender Derek Heldt-Werle and defender Charles Jurzenski earned All-League honorable mentions.

Girls grab eight spots

The Lady Warriors took three first team spots and eight total in the Sierra All-League selections.

Midfielders Skylar Smith and Sabrina Trachsel, along with senior captain and defender Sierra Forvilly, all made first team.

Forvilly put up a brick-wall defense all season for the Warriors. She then stepped up as forward when playoffs rolled around and injuries left some holes in the starting lineup.

Trachsel recorded eight goals and eight assists for the Warriors.

Goalkeeper Brittany Boulet, midfielder Kenya Maltase and forward Jenny Shepack made their way onto second team selections.

Before she was sidelined with a knee injury, Boulet recorded 72 saves on goal.

Underclassmen Shepack and Maltase were both leading scorers for the Warriors this season. Shepack netted 17 goals and 10 assists. Maltase collected 13 goals and seven assists.

Michael Gardner and goalkeeper Gisselle Benitez, who stepped up when Boulet was injured, both earned honorable mentions.

Soccer Results


First Team

Forward – Brooke King

Second Team

Forward – Brittany Sanchez

Midfield – Ally King

Utility – Jensen Smith

Honorable Mention

Midfield – Alisa Caro

Defense – Annie Kate Genasci

Girls All-LEAGUE

Division I-A

MVP Forward – Brooke King (South Tahoe)

MVP Midfield – Olivia Duner (Truckee)

MVP Defense – Melisa Pena (Truckee)

Division III

MVP League – Sophie Breider (Incline)

MVP Offense – Haley Derr (Incline)

MVP Defense – Angela Wood (North Tahoe)

Division I-A First Team

Forward-Kaylee Neill (Truckee)

Forward-Brittany Sanchez (South Tahoe)

Forward-Andrea Gumina (Sparks)

Midfield-Melissa Cardoza (Truckee)

Midfield-Norma Robles (Sparks)

Midfield-Ally King (South Tahoe)

Midfield-Alisa Caro (South Tahoe)

Defense-Annie Kate Genasci (South Tahoe)

Defense-Maria Sanchez (Sparks)

Defense-Sarah Svoboda (Truckee)

Goalkeeper-Cassandra Sawyer (Truckee)

Utility Player-Jensen Smith (South Tahoe)

Coach of the Year-Katie Jamison (Truckee)

Division III First Team

Forward-Vanessa Andrade (Incline)

Forward-Elise Nelson (Incline)

Midfield-Emily Pieper (North Tahoe)

Midfield-Skylar Smith (Whittell)

Midfield-Sabrina Trachsel (Whittell)

Midfield-Kayla Goldberg (Incline)

Defense-Kami Abi-Nader (North Tahoe)

Defense-Sierra Forvilly (Whittell)

Defense-Hannah Johnson (Incline)

Goalkeeper-Sarah Wright (Incline)

Utility Player-Kerrie Tonking (Incline)

Coach of the Year-Tom Canino (Incline)

Second Team (D-IA, DIII combined)

Forward-Quinn Parker (Truckee)

Forward-Brittany Hubberts (South Tahoe)

Forward-Jenny Shepack (Whittell)

Midfield-Liz Buhler (North Tahoe)

Midfield-Alondra Luna (Incline)

Midfield-Jordyn Dion (South Tahoe)

Midfield-Kenya Maltase (Whittell)

Defense-Caroline May (Incline)

Defense-Riley Chapman (South Tahoe)

Defense-Heather Fissel (Truckee)

Goalkeeper-Brittany Boulet (Whittell)

Utility Player-Shelby Matthews (Truckee)

Honorable Mention (D-IA, DIII combined)

Bozhie Pokorny (North Tahoe)

Julia Semmens (North Tahoe)

Hannah Perkins (North Tahoe)

Valeria Guerreo (Sparks)

Ana Torres (Sparks)

Yasmine Felipe (Sparks)

Ivette Mendoza (Sparks)

Kate Krolicki (Whittell)

Michael Gardner (Whittell)

Gisselle Benitez (Whittell)

Cassidy Jackson (South Tahoe)

Sarah Higginbotham (South Tahoe)

Brianna Carroll (South Tahoe)

Alejandra Orozco (South Tahoe)

Karina Rivera (Truckee)

Emma Warren (Truckee)

Katie Johnson (Incline)

Boys All-League

Division I-A

MVP Forward – Hector Hernandez, Sparks

MVP Midfield – Nash McMullen, Truckee

MVP Defense – Reed McMullen, Truckee

Division III

MVP Midfield – Salvador Vargas (Incline)

MVP Offense – Kyle Reeves (Incline)

MVP Defense – Riley McCarthy (North Tahoe)

Division I-A First Team

Forward-Jesse Fereira (Truckee)

Forward-Ruben Pacheco (Sparks)

Forward-Kevin Partida (Sparks)

Midfield-Vicente Cervantes (Sparks)

Midfield-Jose Sarabia (Truckee)

Midfield-Colten Roderigue (Truckee)

Midfield-Juan Hernandez (Sparks)

Defense-Alvaro Medina (Sparks)

Defense-Armando Diaz (Truckee)

Defense-Andres Orozco (South Tahoe)

Goal Keeper-Ignacio Diaz (Truckee)

Utility Player-Ruben Diaz (Truckee)

Coach of the Year-Casey Eberhardt (Truckee)

Coach of the Year-Frank Avilla (Sparks)

Division III First Team

Forward-Trevor Semmens (North Tahoe)

Forward-Drew Bessette (Incline)

Forward-Eduardo Martinez (North Tahoe)

Midfield-Francisco Medina (North Tahoe)

Midfield-Mark Waite (Whittell)

Midfield-Erick Rodriguez (Incline)

Midfield-Wildon DesLauriers (North Tahoe)

Defense-Oscar Gudino (Incline)

Defense-Spenser Buchholz (Whittell)

Defense-Hugo Garcia (Incline)

Goalkeeper-Austin Neil (Whittell)

Utility Player-Nico Monforte (North Tahoe)

Coach of the Year-Tom Canino (Incline)

Second Team (D-IA, DIII combined)

Forward-Oscar Gomez (Sparks)

Forward-Fernando Rodriguez (Truckee)

Forward-Danny Garcia (North Tahoe)

Midfield-Hector Banuelos (Incline)

Midfield-Marshall Neil (Whittell)

Midfield-David Martinez (Truckee)

Midfield-Chase Whitney (North Tahoe)

Defense-Max Barta (Truckee)

Defense-Angel Guerrero (North Tahoe)

Defense-Luis Geisendorf (Sparks)

Defense-Rodney Aguirre Rodriguez (Whittell)

Utility Player-Brian Cuadros (Incline)

Honorable Mention (D-IA, DIII combined)

Joseph Dominguez (Sparks)

Ceasar Arroyo (Sparks)

Alex Tyler (North Tahoe)

Renaldo Hernandez (Sparks)

Nico Kuyper (Truckee)

Bryce Bronken (Whittell)

Lucas Early (North Tahoe)

Thomas Arnstein (Truckee)

Derek Heldt-Werle (Whittell)

Garrett Driller (North Tahoe)

Jose Mendoza (Sparks)

Austin Simonpietri (Truckee)

Charles Jurzenski (Whittell)

Jose Rios (Sparks)

Omar Vargas (North Tahoe)

Rolando Zarate (Truckee)

Rey Estrada (Incline)

Luis Munoz (Incline)

Marlon Correa (Incline)

Go back to article