Recent Stories | TahoeDailyTribune.com

Recent Stories in Opinion

Thanks to the South Tahoe Ice Arena

October 19, 2017 — Thanks so much to the South Tahoe Ice Arena for its generous contribution of equipment for our students here at Sierra House Elementary. Thanks to your contribution, we are able to expand our curriculum to include lacrosse and floor hockey, which will allow students to

Learn more »

Don’t let McClintock divide us

October 19, 2017 — Congressman Tom McClintock has sent seven campaign emails since President Trump's inauguration. Once known for putting principles over politics, his message now consistently strikes a combative tone. Repetitive word choice reveals his theme: Tom uses "left" 19 times, usually paired with "radical" (13 times). McClintock's

Learn more »

Successful spaghetti night

October 19, 2017 — South Tahoe High School girls volleyball would like to extend a huge thank you to Bert's Cafe (Bueno, Marty, and Tracy Ketelsen, and Martin and Mario) for hosting a spaghetti night fundraiser for the girls volleyball program. This was a fun night for the team

Learn more »

If not now, then when for Tahoe’s roads?

October 19, 2017 — All of us living in this tourist town understand a simple truth: our infrastructure is burdened with more than it can handle. Specifically, our roads. Each year, millions of visitors drive to Tahoe to enjoy the natural beauty of our home, but the damage this

Learn more »

Guest column: City fails to address questions on proposed VHR changes

October 19, 2017 — I hate to waste my time, but I cannot let the erroneous propaganda put out by the emperor of City Hall go unrebutted. The city will not let go of this "nuisance" problem, as it diverts focus on the dismal road conditions that the city

Learn more »

Test scores: Do they matter?

October 16, 2017 — The California Department of Education just released the California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) results from last spring's testing season. These scores and reports are now a topic of conversation at family dinner tables and in school faculty meetings across town. No matter

Learn more »

Ask Tessie: How do I meet a responsible man in Tahoe?

October 16, 2017 — Dear Tessie, I've been single in Tahoe for almost a year now, and I'm having a hard time meeting a decent guy. I'm not into dating apps, so I was hoping you could give me some advice on landing a gainfully employed, responsible man. Sincerely,

Learn more »

Tahoe Prosperity Center column: Inaugural Tahoe Economic Summit approaching

October 15, 2017 — The Tahoe Prosperity Center, the region's economic and community development organization, is hosting the inaugural Tahoe Economic Summit on Monday, Oct. 30, at the Hyatt Regency in Incline Village. This day-long event is a way for our communities to come together and discuss economic issues

Learn more »

Letter: Covering contraception

October 14, 2017 — At my first job out of college (in the '70s), a coworker once remarked that he didn't know why companies hire women. "They just get pregnant and leave anyway." Remember, only a generation ago we fought to be recognized as able, intelligent people who could

Learn more »

Letter: CBD product is pretty expensive water

October 13, 2017 — I realize that the public is generally arithmetically challenged, but I would hope that your staff would at least do a little research before running what amounts to an ad for a scam like CBD-water. Two minutes research online found that you could buy hemp

Learn more »

Letter: South Lake Tahoe water aerobics class a great service to the community

October 13, 2017 — I am writing a letter of thanks to the South Lake Tahoe Department of Parks and Recreation. I had the misfortune to require a hip replacement this September. With really all other forms of physical activity curtailed by pain prior to the surgery, I started

Learn more »

Guest column: Measure C crucial for South Lake Tahoe’s future (opinion)

October 12, 2017 — When I ran for City Council, I ran on a platform of repairing and maintaining our local roads in South Lake Tahoe. I knew our community needed a solution to fix the dangerous potholes and cracks that endanger drivers, cyclists and pedestrians. After much planning

Learn more »

Introducing PAL

October 12, 2017 — I would like to introduce you to Parents of Addicted Loved Ones (PAL). PAL is a support group of parents helping parents. We meet every Wednesday night from 6-7:30 p.m. located at Tahoe Youth & Family Services, 1021 Fremont Ave., in South Lake Tahoe, starting

Learn more »

Progress for Tahoe: Vote yes on Measure C (opinion)

October 11, 2017 — Roads play a strong supporting role, if not a leading role in nearly all of our lives. They are the conduit between our homes and work, our homes and school, our homes and friends. Whether we are driving, biking, walking or unicycling, we meet the

Learn more »

Ask Tessie: How to I get my coworkers to stop stealing my coffee creamer?

October 9, 2017 — Dear Tessie, People at work keep drinking my coffee creamer. What would you do? Sincerely, I Even Sharpied My Name On It Sharpie-labeled food and passive aggressive Post-it notes are for the weak. Though in my heart-of-hearts I want to tell you to crush up

Learn more »

Sass Talk: Progress on VHRs, vote ‘yes’ on South Lake Tahoe sales tax question

October 7, 2017 — On Tuesday, a majority of city council agreed on a revised VHR (vacation home rental) ordinance. In two weeks we will vote on the first reading of the ordinance and if a majority supports it, Nov. 7 would be the final vote to adopt the

Learn more »

Letter: Vote ‘no’ on Measure C

October 7, 2017 — Measure C is another tax increase scheme by the city disguised as a noble effort to fix our streets. The city has neglected to budget annually to keep up the necessary street repairs and now is claiming this state of emergency must be addressed with

Learn more »

Letter: Kaepernick could be appropriate

October 6, 2017 — Plenty of Americans have been infuriated by Kaepernick's protest and the fire storm it has lit. But very few, including Carl, have bothered to see what it's all about. Yes, I'm embarrassed by his display, but he doesn't hate his country or disrespect our military;

Learn more »

Kudos: Successful 2017 Fire Fest at Lake Tahoe

October 6, 2017 — Over 100 volunteers, including the Lake Tahoe Basin Fire Academy cadets, CCCs, county, state and federal firefighters and public and private agency staff spent a busy Saturday, Sept. 30, presenting Fire Fest 2017. Add to the efforts of our local fire and emergency responders, those

Learn more »

Generation T: New column by high school students to explore issues impacting Tahoe Teens

October 5, 2017 — Many adults tend to forget their past and the struggles they experienced in their youth. Because of this, many teenagers feel isolated and unable to seek help or guidance from the adults in our lives. We are here to illuminate the struggles faced by most

Learn more »