Staff Report

Follow Me

Back to: South Shore
March 11, 2014
Follow South Shore

Six vying for District 5 Supervisor seat

Six candidates will face off in a race for District 5 El Dorado County Supervisor in the June 3 primary election.

Kevin Brown, Kenny Curtzwiler, Geraldine “Gerri” Grego, Sue Novasel, Teresa Piper and Angela Swanson have been qualified to the ballot by El Dorado County Elections Department.

District 5 covers southeast El Dorado County from South Lake Tahoe to Pollock Pines. It is currently represented by Norma Santiago, who cannot run for reelection after three terms in office.

Eight candidates have been qualified to the ballot for District 4 Supervisor: Scott McNeil, Tim Palmer, Lori Parlin, Howard Penn, Michael Jon Pettibone, Winston Pingrey, Michael Ranalli and Dave Souza.

District 4 covers the northern half of the county and is represented by Ron Briggs, who cannot run for another term and instead is running for county treasurer-tax collector.

In each supervisor primary, the two candidates who get the most votes will advance to the general election in November.

Superior Court Judges Suzanne Kingsbury and Steven Bailey in South Lake Tahoe do not face challengers.

Superintendent of Schools Jeremy Meyers, Assessor Karl Weiland, Sheriff John D’Agostini and Surveyor Rich Briner also are not facing challengers in the primary election.

County voters in some areas will also consider local ballot measures in the June primary election.

In South Lake Tahoe, voters will consider a measure to repeal the city’s paid parking program in several locations, effective Aug. 31, 2014.

Voters in a specific South Lake Tahoe “zone of benefit” will consider a 12-year, $20 per parcel library special tax; and voters in the Fallen Leaf Lake Community Services District will consider extending a Fire Special Tax and annual appropriations limit four years.

Statewide and state district offices up for election this year include governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, controller, treasurer, attorney general, insurance commissioner, state Assembly seats and U.S. representative.

The California Secretary of State’s office will release a list of candidates certified to the ballot on March 27, a spokeswoman said.

Stories you may be interested in

Tahoe Daily Tribune Updated Mar 11, 2014 07:48PM Published Mar 12, 2014 04:17PM Copyright 2014 Tahoe Daily Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.