What is gluten? | TahoeDailyTribune.com

What is gluten?

Metro Creative

Gluten-free foods are now more widely available than ever before, but unless they adhere to gluten-free diets, consumers may not know just what gluten is and why some people need to avoid it.

According to the Celiac Disease Foundation, gluten is the general name for the proteins found in wheat, rye, barley, and the hybrid grain triticale, which is produced by crossing wheat and rye.

Many foods and beverages, including breads, soups, beer and cereals, contain gluten. However, the CDF notes that many foods also are naturally gluten-free. What’s more, many naturally gluten-free foods are very nutritious. These foods include fruits, vegetables, fish and seafood, dairy, beans, legumes and nuts.

And while it may seem as though people advised to avoid gluten must therefore remove grains and other starches from their diets, that’s not the case. In fact, the CDF lists a number of naturally gluten-free grains and starch-containing foods on its website (www.celiac.org).

For example, rice, cassava, corn, soy, potato, quinoa, nut flours, and millet are just a handful of the naturally gluten-free grains and starches that people who must avoid gluten can eat without fear of aggravating their conditions.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around the Lake Tahoe Basin and beyond make the Tahoe Tribune's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.