Assembly race to go to primary |

Assembly race to go to primary

MINDEN – Two filings with the Secretary of State’s Office on Friday ensured there will be a primary for Assembly District 39.

A second Republican, Gardnerville resident and former county commissioner Barbara Smallwood signed up for the seat being vacated by Assemblyman Lynn Hettrick, R-Gardnerville.

Democrat Joetta Brown also filed for the seat on Friday, which will trigger a Republican primary.

Smallwood served on the Gardnerville Town Board and a single term on the Douglas County Board of Commissioners from 1993 to 1996. She was defeated in 1996 by two-term commissioner Bernie Curtis.

Brown is a Foothill resident and former banker from California.

Zephyr Cove resident Rick Gardner filed for the set last week.

As of Monday, no other local races had gone to primaries. In Nevada, when there are more than two candidates of a single party and one other candidate of another party or when there are three candidates of the same party, a primary race is called for.

Three candidates seeking a non-partisan position will also send a race into a primary.

This year’s primary will be held on Aug. 15. Early voting starts on July 29 and absentee ballots will be available beginning on June 30.

Candidates have until May 23 to withdraw. If they withdraw before the deadline, they are removed from the ballot.

In addition to Brown and Smallwood, State Treasurer Brian Krolicki, a Stateline Republican and former Douglas County planning commissioner, has filed for lieutenant governor.

Filing for office closes on Friday.

— AssessorDoug Sonnemann (R)

— Clerk-treasurerBarbara J. Griffin Reed (R)

— Constable – East Fork TownshipPaul Gilbert (R)

— County commissioner – District 2David J. Brady (R)Lloyd W. Higuera (R)

— County commissioner – District 4Nancy McDermid (R)Janet Murphy (R)

— District attorneyMark Jackson (R)

— Justice of the peace – East Fork TownshipKelly ChaseJim A. EnEarl

— Justice of the peace – Tahoe TownshipRichard Glasson

— Public administratorSamuel H. Dupuis (IAP)Lynn EnEarl (R)

— RecorderWerner Christen (R)

— Sheriff Ron Pierini

— School Board trustee

Area 1Karen Chessell

Area 2Sharla S. Hales

Area 6Connie J. Wennhold

Area 7Keith Roman

— Kingsbury Town BoardLarry F. Schussel

— LakeridgeJohn “Jack” GilmanDavid R. KinleyJohn McCall

— Logan Creek Town BoardThomas R. FlaniganJeff McDaniel

— East Fork Swimming Pool DistrictGordon GrayKyle Denise HamiltonPatrick O’HaraLesley Solt

— Marla BayCarol McQuirkJack McQuirk

— Round Hill Town BoardBrad DortonJoseph FrancoeurMary Sue MatthewsWesley Rice

— Skyland Town BoardVictor BeelikRoderick K. HoganBarbara L. MacSween

— Tahoe Douglas Fire Protection DistrictRoy ClasonFrank Forvilly

— Tahoe Douglas Sanitation DistrictLes BerksonCarl Paulson

— Zephyr Cove District BoardCookie BibleRichard A. Johnson

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around the Lake Tahoe Basin and beyond make the Tahoe Tribune's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


See more