Catch some: 2008 California fishing license now on sale
Anglers who fish in California can now buy their 2008 fishing license. The cost for residents of California is $38.85 The non-resident, annual fishing license fee is $104.20.
A one-day fishing license (resident or non-resident) will cost $12.60.
A two-day fishing license (non-resident) will cost $19.45.
A 10-day fishing license (resident or non-resident) will cost $38.85.
A second rod stamp is $12.10. That stamp allows an angler to fish with two rods or lines in inland waters, except for waters in which only artificial lures or barbless hooks may be used.
According to the California Department of Fish and Game’s Web site, http://www.dfg.ca.gov, fishing licenses and stamps are throughout the region.
Special Note No. 1: Fishermen are advised that anyone fishing in California must wear their fishing license where it is readily visible above the waist. If you don’t, you are subject to being cited and fined.
Special Note No. 2: The Nevada fishing license period is on a totally different type of year. The current 2007-2008 Nevada fishing license is good through Feb. 29, 2008.
Fish and Game Code defines “resident” as any person who has resided continuously in the state of California for six months or more immediately prior to the date of their application for a license or permit, any person on active military duty with the Armed Forces of the United States or auxiliary branch thereof, or any person enrolled in the Job Corps.
For information, call the California Dept. of Fish and Game, License and Revenue Branch in Sacramento at (916) 928-5805 during normal business hours or go to website http://www.dfg.ca.gov.