El Dorado County’s elected officials sworn into office | TahoeDailyTribune.com

El Dorado County’s elected officials sworn into office

Elected officials sworn in Monday include Sheriff John D'Agostini, County Surveyor Philip Mosbacher, Treasurer-Tax Collector Karen Coleman, County Assessor Karl Weiland, District 5 Supervisor Sue Novasel, Judge Suzanne Kingsbury, who oversaw Monday's ceremony, District Attorney Vern Pierson, District 4 Supervisor Lori Parlin, Recorder Clerk Janelle Horne and County Superintendent of Schools Edward Manansala pose in the Board of Supervisors chamber after swearing into their elected positions Monday, Jan. 7.
Gray Baker / Mountain Democrat

PLACERVILLE, Calif. — Ten elected county officials began their terms of office Monday before their families, friends and a standing-room-only El Dorado County chambers.

Coming to the podium amidst applause, some new faces — and some long-standing ones — took their oaths of office before the county’s Presiding Judge Suzanne Kingsbury at a special Board of Supervisors meeting.

“For those of you who ran for office, this is the culmination of your hard work,” Kingsbury told those taking oaths.

Among those returning, Sue Novasel began her second term as District 5 supervisor. The following day she was tapped to served as the chair of the El Dorado County Board of Supervisors for the coming year.

Lori Parlin was one of four newly elected officials and took her oath of office as District 4 supervisor, replacing Michael Ranalli.

Other newcomers sworn in Monday included Philip Mosbacher, who was elected county surveyor. Janelle Horne took office as the new recorder-clerk, replacing William “Bill” Schultz, who was first elected in 1994 and recently retired. Karen Coleman, the new treasurer-tax collector, also filled a long-occupied office; Cherie Raffety announced her retirement last year, having served in the position since 1985.

As for those returning to their posts, County Superintendent of Schools Ed Manansala will continue to work in the position he took up in 2015, after his predecessor left office on charges of driving under the influence.

Sheriff John D’Agostini began his third term, according to sheriff’s office spokesman Sgt. Anthony Prencipe. Karl Weiland began his third term as county assessor, while District Attorney Vern Pierson took oath for a fourth term.

Auditor-Controller Joe Harn was sworn in for a seventh time since first being elected in 1994.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around the Lake Tahoe Basin and beyond make the Tahoe Tribune's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


See more