DMV asks law enforcement to use discretion when ticketing driver license, registration expirations
SOUTH LAKE TAHOE, Calif. — The California Department of Motor Vehicles is asking law enforcement to exercise discretion for 60 days in enforcing driver license and vehicle registration expiration dates in an effort to limit the number of people who need to go in to the offices.
The 60-day period is intended to protect the health and safety of DMV customers.
This does not apply to individuals who need to renew registration and have outdated insurance information, registration that has been expired for 90 days or more, smog issues or recent transfers.
“California law enforcement is encouraged to exercise flexibility and discretion when reviewing driver license or identification and vehicle registration records,” a press release from the DMV said. “If applicable, DMV may waive vehicle registration penalties.”
The DMV is encouraging customers to take care of many of their tasks online, through the mail or on one of the kiosks.
Support Local Journalism
Readers around the Lake Tahoe Basin and beyond make the Tahoe Tribune's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.
Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.
Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.
Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.
User Legend: Moderator Trusted User