Douglas commissioner Rice wins primary; Noble, Tulloch lead IVGID candidates

STATELINE, Nev. — Douglas County Commissioner Wes Rice has defeated Janet Murphy for the District 4 seat with more than 56% of the vote, according to the preliminary results from Nevada Secretary of State’s Office that were released after midnight.

Rice received 3,382 votes compared to 1,831 for Murphy (30%) and 808 for Natalie Yanish (13.42%).

Douglas County Clerk-Treasurer Amy Burgan defeated challenger Heather MacDonnell 71.32% to 28.68%. Burgan received 4,361 votes to MacDonell’s 1,754.

Douglas resident Blayne Osborn received 52.71% of the local vote for a 2-year term in Assembly District 39 compared to Ken Gray’s 47.29%.

Douglas resident Jim Wheeler beat Robin Titus for a 4-year term in Senate District 17 with 58.46% of the county vote.

Overall vote totals in the districts include:

US House of Representatives, 2nd District — 
Mark Amodei 33,628 54.30%
Danny Tarkanian 20,482 33.07%

The 2nd district includes Carson City and the counties of Churchill, Douglas, Elko, Eureka, Humboldt, Lander, Lyon, Pershing, Storey, Washoe and White Pine.

Nevada State Senate, District 17 (Churchill, Lyon and Douglas counties) — 
Robin Titus 10,126 52.85%
Jim Wheeler 9,034 47.15%

Nevada State Assembly, District 39 (Lyon and Douglas counties) — 
Ken Gray 5,062 54.14%
Blayne Osborne 4,288 45.86%

Douglas County School Board Area 7 candidate Dave Burns will go into the general election with a 293-vote edge over opponent Roberta Butterfield. Burns won the race with 46.35% of the vote, but not enough to hit 50% plus 1 required to win in the primary. Butterfield received 42.76% of the vote and Nicholas Brashears had 10.89%.

Turnout in Douglas County was 21.88%, with 2,409 voters casting their ballot on Election Day. There may be some adjustment over the next few days as ballots received in the mail are counted.


The Incline Village General Improvement District has two open seats come November and the four candidates who will advance have become more clear.

David Noble will go into the general election with a 27-vote lead over opponent Ray Tulloch as those two by far outdistanced the other four candidates.

Noble received 574 votes (28.33%) and Tulloch grabbed 547 votes (27%). Gail Krolick received 323 votes (15.94%) and Yolanda Knaak got 268 (13.23%).

All four candidates will likely advance to the general election. The two who get the most votes in November will become IVGID trustees.The two candidates who likely failed to advance were Bradley Mindlin with 200 votes (9.87%) and Al Buckner with 114 votes (5.63%).
Overall, 2,026 votes were cast.

Kurt Hildebrand of the Record Courier contributed to this report.

Correction: This story has been updated with more exact results.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around the Lake Tahoe Basin and beyond make the Tahoe Tribune's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.