Eight receive scholarships | TahoeDailyTribune.com

Eight receive scholarships

Provided to the Tribune

Each year for the past 18 years the South Tahoe Association of Realtors has granted scholarships to outstanding graduating seniors. The Barbara Kelly Memorial Scholarship fund was established in 1988 to assist local students with the cost of college tuition. As a result of generous member contributions, the South Tahoe Association of Realtors awarded scholarships to eight students from the graduating class of South Tahoe and Whittell high schools. The association honored each recipient with an award of $750.

The 2006 recipients from South Tahoe High School, their college of choice, and their majors are:

— Jessica Bettencourt, Seattle Pacific University, communications/sports medicine.

— Courtney Blann, Santa Clara University, undecided.

— Conor Freeman, San Diego State University, sport/fitness administration/management.

— Brianna McWhorter, University of California, Santa Barbara, theater.

— Nicole Ealy, California State University, San Marcos, medical, business, theater.

— Peter “PJ” Bacon, San Diego State University, agriculture business and management.

— Nicole Riegel, California Polytechnic, architecture.

The 2006 recipient from Whittell High School is:

— Justin Peel, Santa Clara University, physics/engineering.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around the Lake Tahoe Basin and beyond make the Tahoe Tribune's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.