El Dorado County releases finalized election results | TahoeDailyTribune.com

El Dorado County releases finalized election results

El Dorado County on Tuesday, Dec. 6, released final results from the November election, and, as was largely expected, the final tallies did not change the outcome of the most closely watched races on the South Shore.

In the race for South Lake Tahoe City Council, Brooke Laine finished first among the 10 contenders running for the two seats. Laine received 2,548 votes, or 22.1 percent. Jason Collin finished in second with 1,995 votes, or 17.3 percent.

Tamara Wallace narrowly finished in third place with 1,852 votes, or 16.06 percent. The final results were mostly in line with unofficial outcomes released in the days after the election.

Laine and Collin are expected to be sworn in as council members at the Tuesday, Dec. 13, council meeting.

Final results also failed to change the outcome for the most closely watched ballot measures in South Lake Tahoe. Those included Measure P — a citywide 2-percent increase of the transient occupancy tax, which would be earmarked for the construction, operation and maintenance of a new recreation complex — and Measure T — a citizen-initiated ballot question that will put any city decisions regarding the Loop Road to a citywide vote.

Meaure P passed with 68.7 percent of the vote, while Measure T passed with 59.94 percent.

Outside of local races, El Dorado County voted for Donald Trump in the presidential race, with Trump receiving 49,247 votes, or 51.76 percent, while Hillary Clinton received 36,404 votes, or 38.26 percent.

Overall, 97,024 ballots were counted in El Dorado County, which amounted to a turnout of 83.31 percent.

Support Local Journalism

Your support means a better informed community. Donate today.