Unofficial results put Novasel, Curtzwiler at top of El Dorado County District 5 supervisor race |

Unofficial results put Novasel, Curtzwiler at top of El Dorado County District 5 supervisor race

Editor’s note: This post is based off initial numbers reported by the county just after Election Day. With thousands of ballots still unprocessed, results could change. The Tribune will post updates as more results come in.

Unofficial election results in El Dorado County have incumbent Sue Novasel and challenger Kenny Curtzwiler advancing to the general election in a rematch of the 2014 race for District 5 supervisor.

Novasel and Curtzwiler earned the most votes in a crowd of four candidates, with Novasel at the top with 1,604 votes (36.9 percent) and Curtzwiler narrowly coming in second with 1,419 votes (32.64 percent).

Political newcomer Jeffrey Spencer finished in third with 718 votes (16.52 percent) and Norma Santiago, who held the supervisor seat before Novasel, finished in fourth with 597 votes (13.73 percent).

If results hold true, it sets up a rematch of the 2014 race in District 5, which includes nearly all of the Tahoe Basin portion of the county and stretches to Pollock Pines. Novasel won the 2014 race handily with nearly 60 percent of the vote.

Overall turnout in the county was 30.28 percent, according to the unofficial results.

In other contested county races:

District Attorney

Incumbent Vern Pierson fended off a challenge from Trish Kelliher, with 17,349 votes (56.55 percent) to 13,268 votes (43.25 percent).


Janelle K. Horne earned the most votes in the race with 12,137 votes (41.02 percent). In November Horne will face Todd White who finished second with 10,436 votes (35.27 percent). Dan Dellinger finished third with 6,962 votes (23.53 percent).

Treasurer-Tax Collector

E. Coleman defeated Anne Billingsley, with 15,686 votes (56.12 percent) to 12,156 votes (43.49 percent).


Incumbent Joe Harn defeated challenger Mike Owen, with 16,284 votes (53.2 percent) to 14,253 votes (46.56 percent).

Supervisor District 4

Incumbent Michael Ranalli overwhelmingly won the largest amount of votes with 3,599 votes (50.03 percent). Lori Parlin received 2,698 votes (37.50 percent). Bogdan Ambrozewicz finished third.

CLARIFICATION: This story was originally published with the headline: Novasel, Curtzwiler advance to 2018 general election race for El Dorado County District 5 supervisor. It has since been updated to reflect the fact many ballots have yet to be counted.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around the Lake Tahoe Basin and beyond make the Tahoe Tribune's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User