Final results from Douglas County |

Final results from Douglas County

The final numbers are in for some Douglas County election contests.

The Tahoe-Douglas Fire Protection District had two open seats. The

winners are Frank Forvilly with948 votes or 31.25 percent and Roy Clason with 940 votes or 30.98 percent.

Clayton “Clay” Johnson received 741 votes or 24.2 percent and Victor Beelik with 405 votes or 13.35 percent.

For the Round Hill General Improvement District, three four-year terms and one two-year term were up for the grabs. Winners are Joe Francoeur with 164 votes or 23.7 percent of the vote; Mary Sue Matthews, 146 votes or 21.10 percent; Steve Teshara, 142 votes or 20.5 percent and Don Lally, with 140 votes or 20.2 percent.

Brad Dorton received 100 votes, or 14.4 percent.

In the Douglas County assessor’s race, which was partisan, Republican Doug Sonnemann was the winner, with 10, 817 votes or 67.96 percent to Democrat John Eckland’s 5,100 votes or 32.04 percent.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around the Lake Tahoe Basin and beyond make the Tahoe Tribune's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User