First week of filing sets up primary for Assembly |

First week of filing sets up primary for Assembly

After the first week of filing, Douglas has to look to its state race for a primary.

Kelly Kite, R-Minden, is being challenged by Republicans Jim Wheeler of Gardnerville and Gary Schmidt of Dayton in Assembly District 39. Perennial candidate Independent American David Schumann is also seeking the seat.

Kite is running for a second term representing Douglas County, though the district has changed to include eastern Lyon County instead of Incline Village.

Today marks the beginning of the second week of filing for office.

All three sitting commissioners and three of four school board trustees have filed for their seats without sparking any other countywide races. Filing for office closes on Friday.

Doug Johnson rounded out the slate of sitting commissioners when he filed on Friday. Commissioners Greg Lynn and Michael A. Olson filed on Monday.

Karen Chessell, Cindy Trigg and Teri Jamin have all filed for re-election to school board. Only incumbent Randy Green has yet to file for his area 4 seat.

Nearly three-dozen people filed for office in the first week. The most popular office was that of East Fork Swimming Pool District, which saw four people file.

Three candidates each filed for Minden-Gardnerville Sanitation District and Gardnerville Town Board.

Several boards went without any candidates filing at all, including the Genoa Town Board, which has two open seats, and a half dozen or so districts at Lake Tahoe.

County Commission

1. Greg Lynn

3. Doug Johnson

5. Michael A. Olson

School Board

1. Karen Chessell

3. Cindy Trigg

5. Teri Jamin


Mary Ann Wenner

Marco Caldana

Lloyd Higuera


John Stephans

Steven Thaler

Gardnerville Ranchos GID

David Bourne

Indian Hills GID

Chris Johnson

Charles Swanson

Minden Gardnerville

Sanitation District

Jerry Smith

Bob Allgeier

Barbara S. Smallwood

Mosquito Abatement

Irvine Phillips

East Fork Swimming

Carl Schnock

Robert Cutts

Gordon Gray

David Oren

Topaz Ranch Estates GID

Gordon Gray

Lakeridge GID

Jerard Trombka

Robert Dickerson

Logan Creek GID

James Seeman

Tom Rackerby

Marla Bay GID

Roy R. Pike

Ronald J. Borsos

Kingsbury GID

Jodie Nelson

Bob McDowell

Skyland GID

John Peel


Sewer District

John Peel

Zephyr Heights GID

Allan J. Sutter

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around the Lake Tahoe Basin and beyond make the Tahoe Tribune's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User