Foundation distributes $86,000 |

Foundation distributes $86,000

Tahoe Daily Tribune

Dan Thrift/Tahoe Daily TribuneEl Dorado Community Foundation Board of Directors are, from left, Dena Schwarte, Barton Memorial Hospital, Anne Johnson, Tahoe Heritage Foundation, Janna Genovese, South Tahoe Women's Center, Betsy Fedor, Sierra Recovery Center, and De-Anne Hooper, Boys & Girls Club of South Lake Tahoe.

El Dorado Community Foundation’s 2002 South Lake Tahoe Agency Endowment Challenge resulted in $43,000 in donations being received by the five local participating agencies, with $43,000 in matching funds from the Foundation. The total of $86,000 will be committed to permanent endowment funds benefiting the five charitable agencies forever, as follows:

n $20,000 to the Barton Memorial Hospital Foundation Fund, Dena Schwarte, chairwoman.

— $20,000 to the Boys & Girls Club of Lake Tahoe Fund, De-Anne Hooper, executive director.

— $16,000 to the Sierra Recovery Center Fund, Betsy Fedor, executive director.

n $10,000 to the South Tahoe Women’s Center Fund, Janna Genovese, executive director.

— $20,000 to the Tahoe Heritage Foundation Fund, Anne Johnson, past president.

Recommended Stories For You

Another success for the El Dorado Community Foundation is the ongoing South Lake Tahoe Area Fund Challenge. To date, this challenge has resulted in $65,000 of permanently endowed funds and resultant matching funds. The South Lake Tahoe Area Challenge Fund will continue until June 30. There is $20,000 in matching funds still available for this campaign. Every dollar someone gives means two dollars in permanently endowed funds for the South Lake Tahoe Area.

The El Dorado Community Foundation is one of 600 such foundations around the country where donations of all sizes are pooled and professionally invested as a permanent endowment to benefit their respective communities. Since 1994, the El Dorado Foundation has distributed over $1,300,000 in grants.

For more information on The El Dorado Community Foundation, how to contribute to any of the five agency funds mentioned above, or how to participate in the South Tahoe Area Challenge, please call one of the following South Lake Tahoe Cabinet members: Wendy David, (530) 544-6754; Bob Novasel, (530) 577-5050; Sue Yang, (530) 577-3422; or Mark Acri, (530) 544-8093.