Governors announce fire commission members |

Governors announce fire commission members

California Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger and Nevada Gov. Jim Gibbons announced the members of the California-Nevada Tahoe Basin Fire Commission on Friday.

Over the next eight months, the commission will comprehensively review laws concerning the vulnerability of the basin to wildfire.

“It is crucial that we all work together to prevent something like the Angora fire from happening again,” said Schwarzenegger in a press statement. “That is why we are directing this commission to examine all federal, state and regional rules and regulations to make sure people have the right fire- protection tools to protect their property.”

“The Lake Tahoe Basin and the forest resources must be managed by proven forestry practices based on sound science,” said Gibbons in a press release. “I look forward to the commission’s review of the policies that currently govern forest management in the Tahoe Basin.”

The commission will submit the report and recommendations to the governors by March 21, 2008.

California-Nevada Tahoe Basin Fire Commission members

California voting members:

Kate Dargan, California State Fire Marshall (co-chair)

Ruben Grijalva, director, California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection

Cindy Tuck, undersecretary, California Environmental Protection Agency

Patrick Wright, executive director, California Tahoe Conservancy

Jeff Michael, chief, Lake Valley Fire Protection District

John Pickett, coordinator, Nevada Fire Safe Council Tahoe Basin

Ron McIntyre, member, North Lake Tahoe Resort Association Board of Directors

John Upton, Angora fire victim

California non-voting members:

Julie Motamedi, chair, Tahoe Regional Planning Agency

Amy Horne, chair, Regional Water Quality Control Board

Nevada voting members:

Sig Rogich, former U.S. Ambassador and government affairs specialist (co-chair)

James Wright, chief, Nevada Fire Marshal

Pete Anderson, Nevada Division of Forestry

Michael Brown, chief, North Lake Tahoe Fire Protection District/Nevada Fire Safe Council

Jim Santini, former Nevada congressman

John Koster, president, Northern Nevada Region of Harrah’s Entertainment, Inc.

Bud Hicks, president, Glenbrook Homeowners Association

Bob Davidson, Lake Tahoe Basin homeowner

Nevada non-voting members:

Allen Biaggi, director, Nevada Division of Conservation and Natural Resources/member, Tahoe Regional Planning Agency Governing Board

Leo Drozdoff, administrator, Nevada Division of Environmental Protection

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around the Lake Tahoe Basin and beyond make the Tahoe Tribune's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User