Kiwanis announce student awards |

Kiwanis announce student awards

The Hope of America Award is sponsored by Kiwanis International and is awarded to elementary school students in fifth grade to recognize their contributions to their schools.

Teachers nominate students to the principal based on leadership, ethical and moral character and outstanding academic accomplishment. Their schools recognize them with a special assembly and Kiwanis presents them with a $100 savings bond and a very distinguished plaque.

Winners for the 2001 school year and their schools are:

Blaire Segal, Meyers Elementary; Hector Benitez, Tahoe Valley Elementary; Hilary Santana, Al Tahoe Mountain Homes; Karen Jaimes, Bijou Community; and Grace Butler, Sierra House Elementary.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around the Lake Tahoe Basin and beyond make the Tahoe Tribune's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User