Lake Tahoe Bicycle Achievement Awards Ceremony to be held |

Lake Tahoe Bicycle Achievement Awards Ceremony to be held

Provided to the Tribune

The 2010-11 Lake Tahoe Bicycle Achievement Awards will be held Friday at Mo’s Place in South Lake Tahoe.

The Lake Tahoe Bicycle Achievement Award is given to an individual, business, nonprofit organization and public agency that have made significant contributions to advancing bicycling in the Lake Tahoe region. Eight awards will be handed out this year, for 2010 and 2011.

Individual nominees are Chris Askin, Jim Backus, Gary Bell, Amy and Ben Fish, Brian Judge, Andy Messer, Jeff Miner, Tim Rowe, John Upton, Tom Wendell; business nominees are Design Workshop, Lake Tahoe Media Group, Lumos & Associates, LSC Transportation Consultants, Northstar California; agency nominees are California Department of Transportation, El Dorado County, South Tahoe Recreation Joint Powers Authority, Tahoe City Public Utility District, Tahoe Metropolitan Planning Organization, Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, United States Forest Service-Lake Tahoe Basin Management Unit; and organization nominees are Lake Tahoe Visitors Authority, Nevada Bicycle Advisory Board, Tahoe Area Mountain Bike Association, Tahoe Regional Advocates for Cycling.

“Lifecycle,” a feature film about mountain biking, will be shown following the ceremony.

The free event, which is presented by the Lake Tahoe Bicycle Coalition and Mo’s Place, will be held at 7 p.m. at Mo’s Place, 3600 Lake Tahoe Blvd.

For more information, conact Lake Tahoe Bicycle Coalition at 775-586-9566 or

Support Local Journalism

Your support means a better informed community. Donate today.


See more