Lake Tahoe’s Carol Chaplin named chair of Reno-Tahoe Airport Authority board |

Lake Tahoe’s Carol Chaplin named chair of Reno-Tahoe Airport Authority board

Carol Chaplin
Brian Walker

One of Lake Tahoe’s leading tourism officials has been tapped to head the board that oversees the Reno-Tahoe International and Reno-Stead airports.

The Reno-Sparks Convention and Visitors Authority recently appointed Carol Chaplin to serve as chair of the airport authority’s nine-member board. The Reno-Tahoe Airport Authority is the owner and operator of both airports, which are identified by airport codes RNO and RTS.

Chaplin, who has more than 35 years of experience in the Tahoe region’s hospitality and tourism industry, has worked as president/CEO of the Lake Tahoe and Tahoe Douglas Visitors authorities since 2008, according to a news release.

She is also currently serving on the Tahoe Regional Planning Agency Main Street Management working group to provide final design recommendations for the U.S. 50 South Shore Community Revitalization Project in the Tahoe Basin.

“As the 66th busiest commercial airport in the nation, RNO is an economic engine that generates $3.1 billion per year for the Northern Nevada economy,” said Chaplin. “I intend to continue our momentum in gaining additional flights to key destinations east along with ensuring progress in the Master Plan process that will continue to set RNO apart in services, facilities and amenities.”

Chaplin is no stranger to regional air service.

She was chosen for the Regional Air Service Corporation (RASC) Board in 2008 and is co-chair of the board’s marketing committee, which is instrumental in bringing new air service to the region, according to the release.

An airport trustee since 2017, Chaplin said she looks forward to chairing the board.

“It’s an honor to work alongside the eight other trustees and the airport’s professional staff,” Chaplin said in the news release. “I admire their expertise and experience, as well as their passion and commitment to excellence in safety, profitability and service to our region and to our passengers.”

Other board officers for fiscal year 2019-20 include Vice Chair Jessica Sferrazza, Secretary Shaun Carey, Treasurer Lisa Gianoli and members Nat Carasali, Daniel Farahi, Richard Jay, Jenifer Rose and Art Sperber.

Trustees are appointed to the board by the city of Reno, city of Sparks, Washoe County and the Reno-Sparks Convention and Visitors Authority.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around the Lake Tahoe Basin and beyond make the Tahoe Tribune's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.