Six vying for District 5 Supervisor seat |

Six vying for District 5 Supervisor seat

Tribune staff report

El Dorado County races


Incumbent Joe Harn

Michael Owen

District attorney

Incumbent Vern Pierson

Judson Henry


Incumbent William Schultz

Chris Amaral

Treasurer-Tax Collector

Incumbent C.L. Raffety

Ron Briggs

Six candidates will face off in a race for District 5 El Dorado County Supervisor in the June 3 primary election.

Kevin Brown, Kenny Curtzwiler, Geraldine “Gerri” Grego, Sue Novasel, Teresa Piper and Angela Swanson have been qualified to the ballot by El Dorado County Elections Department.

District 5 covers southeast El Dorado County from South Lake Tahoe to Pollock Pines. It is currently represented by Norma Santiago, who cannot run for reelection after three terms in office.

Eight candidates have been qualified to the ballot for District 4 Supervisor: Scott McNeil, Tim Palmer, Lori Parlin, Howard Penn, Michael Jon Pettibone, Winston Pingrey, Michael Ranalli and Dave Souza.

District 4 covers the northern half of the county and is represented by Ron Briggs, who cannot run for another term and instead is running for county treasurer-tax collector.

In each supervisor primary, the two candidates who get the most votes will advance to the general election in November.

Superior Court Judges Suzanne Kingsbury and Steven Bailey in South Lake Tahoe do not face challengers.

Superintendent of Schools Jeremy Meyers, Assessor Karl Weiland, Sheriff John D’Agostini and Surveyor Rich Briner also are not facing challengers in the primary election.

County voters in some areas will also consider local ballot measures in the June primary election.

In South Lake Tahoe, voters will consider a measure to repeal the city’s paid parking program in several locations, effective Aug. 31, 2014.

Voters in a specific South Lake Tahoe “zone of benefit” will consider a 12-year, $20 per parcel library special tax; and voters in the Fallen Leaf Lake Community Services District will consider extending a Fire Special Tax and annual appropriations limit four years.

Statewide and state district offices up for election this year include governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, controller, treasurer, attorney general, insurance commissioner, state Assembly seats and U.S. representative.

The California Secretary of State’s office will release a list of candidates certified to the ballot on March 27, a spokeswoman said.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around the Lake Tahoe Basin and beyond make the Tahoe Tribune's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.