| TahoeDailyTribune.com

Staff report

Misty May-Treanor and Kerri Walsh advance to the finals undefeated with their victory Saturday against fourth seeded Holly McPeak and Nicole Branagh 21-15, 21-9, their 35th consecutive match victory for the AVP Best of the Beach volleyball invitational at Stateline.

May-Treanor and Walsh will face second seeded Jen Boss and Rachel Wacholder in the finals today at MontBleu Resort Casino and Spa. Gates open at 11 a.m.

Boss and Wacholder advanced to the finals by defeating fifth seeded Annett Davis and Jenny Johnson Jordan 21-19, 21-19. This is the second time the teams have met in the finals with May-Treanor and Walsh having defeated Boss and Wacholder in the Brooklyn Open.

On the men’s side, defending champions and former partners Sean Scott and Todd Rogers will face off in Sunday’s final.

In Saturday’s play, Scott and Holdren upset third seeded Jake Gibb and Sean Rosenthal 21-15, 21-14 to advance to Sunday’s finals. Second seeded Rogers and new partner Phil Dalhausser defeated John Hyden and Jeff Nygaard 23-21, 21-12 to move into Sunday’s final. Scott and Holdren are going for their first title on the 2006 AVP Crocs Tour and Rogers and Dalhausser are looking to win their eight team title of the season.

In the third place matches to be held on today, Gibb and Rosenthal will face John Hyden and Jeff Nygaard at noon Sunday. McPeak and Branagh will face Davis and Johnson Jordan in the third place match at 1 p.m.

The top seeded team and 2006 AVP Crocs Cup Championship Series Lambert and Metzger were defeated by Sean Scott and Dax Holdren 19-21, 21-19, 15-19 and then were eliminated from play during Saturday by sixth seeded Hyden and Nygaard 21-16, 19-21, 15-8.

Competition starts today at noon with third place match for men, followed by the women’s third place match. The men’s final will take place at 2:00 p.m. followed by the women’s final at 3:30 p.m. Finals will be telecast live on FSN Prime Ticket.

General admission to the tournament is $20 and courtside seats are $35. Tickets are available on Web site http://www.avplaketahoe.com, Tickemaster or at the game site

Men’s results (Saturday)

Contender’s Bracket, second round (losers place fifth, split $8,000)

Jake Gibb, Costa Mesa, Calif. / Sean Rosenthal, Manhattan Beach, Calif. (No. 3-seeded team) d. Matt Fuerbringer, Redondo Beach, Calif. / Casey Jennings, Redondo Beach, Calif. (5), 21-15, 21-16 (43 minutes);

John Hyden, Sherman Oaks, Calif. / Jeff Nygaard, Long Beach, Calif. (6) d. Mike Lambert, Costa Mesa, Calif. / Stein Metzger, Manhattan Beach, Calif. (1), 21-16, 19-21, 15-8 (55).


Dax Holdren, Goleta, Calif. / Sean Scott, Redondo Beach, Calif. (4) d. Gibb / Rosenthal (3), 21-15, 21-14 (42);

Phil Dalhausser, Santa Barbara, Calif. / Todd Rogers, Solvang, Calif. (2) d. Hyden / Nygaard (6), 23-21, 21-12 (34).

Women’s results (Saturday, September 16)

Contender’s Bracket, second round (losers place fifth, split $8,000)

Nicole Branagh, Torrance, Calif. / Holly McPeak, Manhattan Beach, Calif. (4) d. Mimi Amaral, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil / Tatiana Minello, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (6), 16-21, 21-15, 20-18 (61);

Annett Davis, Valencia, Calif. / Jenny Johnson Jordan, Tarzana, Calif. (5) d. Dianne DeNecochea, San Diego / Tammy Leibl, Del Mar, Calif. (3), 21-18, 16-21, 15-13 (55).


Misty May-Treanor, Coral Springs, Fla. / Kerri Walsh, Redondo Beach, Calif. (1) d. Branagh / McPeak (4), 21-15, 21-9 (34);

Jennifer Boss, San Clemente, Calif. / Rachel Wacholder, Redondo Beach, Calif. (2) d. Davis / Johnson Jordan (5), 21-19, 21-19 (44).

Men’s schedule (Sunday)

Third place match (winners place third, split $12,000; losers place third, split $10,000)

Gibb / Rosenthal (3) vs. Hyden / Nygaard (6).

Championship (winners place first, split $30,000; losers place second, split $20,000)

Holdren / Scott (4) vs. Dalhausser / Rogers (2).

Women’s schedule (Sunday, September 17)

Third place match (winners place third, split $12,000; losers place third, split $10,000)

Branagh / McPeak (4) vs. Davis / Johnson Jordan (5).

Championship (winners place first, split $30,000; losers place second, split $20,000)

May-Treanor / Walsh (1) vs. Boss / Wacholder (2).

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around the Lake Tahoe Basin and beyond make the Tahoe Tribune's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.


Loading comments...