More than two dozen officials take oath of office Monday |

More than two dozen officials take oath of office Monday

Staff Reports
Jim GrantDistrict Judge Michael Gibbons presides over the swearing-in ceremony on Monday.

GARDNERVILLE, Nev. – More than 50 friends and well-wishers packed the Douglas County commissioners chambers on Monday morning to watch two-dozen officials take the oath of office.

District Judge Michael Gibbons conducted the ceremony, referring to the man who was defeated for public office time and again before being elected president of the United States.

“‘Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man’s character, give him power,'” Gibbons quoted Abraham Lincoln.

“Being elected to public office is a great privilege,” Gibbons said. “I hope you will conduct your offices cautiously and wisely.”

Gibbons recognized several officials in the crowd, including East Fork Constable Paul Gilbert, who has held his office since 1983, the county’s longest-serving official.

There were some old hands in the crowd of people taking the oath on Monday, including Gilbert, Assessor Doug Sonnemann, School Board trustee Sharla Hales, Gardnerville Town Board member Mike Phillips, and Indian Hills General Improvement District trustee Denise Pierini.

District Attorney Mark Jackson was sworn in for his second term in office.

County commissioner Nancy McDermid took her second oath of office and newly elected Lee Bonner took his first oath.

Formerly appointed county officials Clerk-Treasurer Ted Thran and Recorder Karen Ellison were sworn in for their first elected term.

Observers included County Commission Chairman Mike Olson, County Manager T. Michael Brown, Sen. James Settelmeyer, R-Minden, East Fork Justice of the Peace Tom Perkins, and attorney George Keele.

Former Gardnerville Town Board member Randy Slater watched as wife and former County Recorder Linda Slater took the oath of office for the town board.

Not all those who were elected attended or were required to attend the ceremony. Many were sworn in at their various boards.

Sworn in on Monday


Assessor Doug Sonnemann

Clerk-Treasurer Ted Thran

Constable Paul Gilbert

District Attorney Scott Doyle

County Commissioners

Lee Bonner

Nancy McDermid

School Board Trustee Sharla Hales

Gardnerville Ranchos General Improvement District trustee Shari James

Gardnerville Town Board

Ken Miller

Michael Philips

Linda Slater

Indian Hills GeneralImprovement District

Art Baer

Bill Eisele

Brian Patrick

Denise Pierini

Minden Town Board

Matt Bernard

Charles Condron

Roxanne Stangle

Tahoe Douglas Fire Protection District

Ann Grant

Kevin Kjer

East Fork Swimming Pool District

Gordon Gray

Shannon Harris

Sierra Estates General Improvement District

Lewis Fry

Howard Rush

Support Local Journalism

Your support means a better informed community. Donate today.


See more