No election for Lake Tahoe Community College board |

No election for Lake Tahoe Community College board

William Ferchland

History will repeat itself as incumbents on Lake Tahoe Community College’s Board of Trustees will not face a November election after the three, and only three, filed for candidacy by the Aug. 12 deadline.

Roberta Mason, Kerry David and Molly Blann will not have to campaign for their seats on the board after challenger Malcolm Pribyl withdrew his candidacy.

Pribyl, owner of an insurance company, said he wants to focus on other things in his life.

“I’m pleased with the people there,” he said about the board members.

Blann was appointed to the board in July after the death of 79-year-old Pat Amundson, who intended to run for another four-year term to extend her 20-year tenure on the board.

It’s been at least 15 years since a board member has had to campaign during an election year.

Recommended Stories For You

Mason, who has been with the board since its 1974 inception, was prepared to go forward with a campaign. Asked about the last campaign she ran, she recalled it was against a college student but couldn’t remember what year it was.

“I really enjoy getting out and talking to people, especially about the college,” Mason said.

Blann was also ready to go through an election but seemed happy she has more time to focus on her new post.

Member Fritz Wenck was glad the college would not be burdened with the $20,000 to $30,000 election cost.

“We’re very happy about that,” Wenck, another board member since 1974, said. “With the tight budget we have that’s the good news.”

The South Tahoe Public Utility District Board of Directors, which had three seats up for election, also will not have a race. All three incumbents filed for candidacy by the Aug. 12 deadline without any challengers. The three incumbents are Thomas Comte, James Jones and Eric Schafer.

Two seats with the Tahoe Paradise Resort Improvement District will be filled by incumbents Debbie Henderson and Patti Stuck.

The boards for Lake Tahoe Unified School District, Fallen Leaf Lake Community Services District and Meeks Bay Fire Protection District are still open. The candidacy filing period ends Wednesday.

As of Monday, challengers John Nemes and Angela Swanson will compete for two open seats on Lake Tahoe Unified’s board with incumbent Wendy David.

Three people have filed for two seats on the Fallen Leaf Lake Community Services District Board. Along with incumbent Linda Ramsey, Stephanie Neidig and Sara Stephens have filed candidacy papers.

Incumbent Art Darrow did not file for candidacy.

As for Meeks Bay Fire Protection District board and its two open seats, incumbent Dwight Thomas filed while fellow incumbent Bruce Massey did not.