Nominations announced for Inaugural Blue Ribbon Awards |

Nominations announced for Inaugural Blue Ribbon Awards

Anticipation is building as nominations are announced for the Blue Ribbon Awards created to recognize and award those businesses and individuals who are working hard to promote and sustain the vitality of the South Shore.

Winners of the Service Award are going to be given a 4-day 3-night vacation to either Las Vegas or a five star Rock Resort property. This award will recognize an individual who consistently goes above and beyond to provide exceptional service to their customers and peers. In other words the judges were seeking nominees who love their jobs and the South Shore.

The following list of Service nominations was submitted by customers or employers and thus a nomination is great recognition of a job being done well!

Service Nominees

Gregory Bergner, MD – Stateline Medical Center

France Carreau – Yellow Pager Cellular

Recommended Stories For You

Bill Cottrill – Embassy Suites

Rosie Cowen – Blue Angel Cafe

James Grant – Heavenly Mountain Resort

Ed Johns – Floppy’s

Ellen Krause – Tahoe Paradise Chevron

Shondra Magrath – Wide Awake Conscious Cafe

Elizabeth “Libby” Malone – MontBleu Resort Casino

Teresa Ortega – Colonial Bank

Thomas Trachsel – Alpine Carpet One

Kent Wattanabe – Wattabike

Gary Weigel – TRPA

The Blue Experience Award is going to be presented to a business that provides the entire experience. In other words the product, presentation, ambiance and service are all so well thought out and carried out that once a customer has visited they become a regular and or recommend the business to others. The winner of the Blue Experience Award will receive a number of promotional and advertising benefits in the coming years to assist them and the community in ongoing sustainability and recognition.

These businesses were nominated by customers which is of course the greatest endorsement and recognition possible!

” Blue Experience Nominees

” Black Bear Inn

” Blue Water Bistro

” Freshie’s

” Galerie Blu’u

” Heavenly Mountain Resort

” Red Hut Cafes

” Sprouts Cafe

” Wines on the Lake

Congratulations to the nominees of both categories and please be sure to join the nominees and other community members at the Awards Luncheon.

The selection panel comprised of representatives from the LTSSCC, LTVA and the community, is in the process of competitively judging all of the nominations received.

The inaugural Blue Ribbon Awards are being presented by the Lake Tahoe South Shore Chamber of Commerce and the Lake Tahoe Visitors Authority. The event is being sponsored by RSN and the Tahoe Daily Tribune and will feature internationally renowned marketing and branding expert David Tyreman as keynote speaker.

Community members are encouraged to attend the Inaugural Blue Ribbon Awards luncheon on Nov. 6, 2008, at the Horizon Resort Casino to honor the award recipients and recognize all of the nominees. Tickets are available at or by calling the Lake Tahoe South Shore Chamber of Commerce at (775)588-1728.