Nominations are sought for endangered historic places |

Nominations are sought for endangered historic places

Provided to the Tribune

The National Trust for Historic Preservation is accepting nominations for the 2005 America’s 11 Most Endangered Historic Places list until January 19, 2005. Each year, the National Trust issues this list to identify and raise awareness of historic sites at risk from neglect, deterioration, lack of maintenance, insufficient funds, inappropriate development or insensitive public policy. Since 1988, the list has been one of the most successful tools in the fight to save America’s irreplaceable architectural, cultural, and natural heritage. The 2005 list will be announced in May.

“Ever since 1988, our America’s 11 Most Endangered Historic Places list has been a powerful wake-up call, alerting people to treasures in trouble and galvanizing efforts to save them,” said Richard Moe, president of the National Trust. “The list has helped save some very significant pieces of our heritage, and we’re enormously proud of that fact – but past successes are not enough. Important historic sites are still in danger, and we still must work hard to protect the places that tell America’s story.”

The list has brought national attention to more than 140 significant buildings, sites and landscapes. At times, that attention has garnered public support to rescue a treasured landmark; while in others, it has been an opening in a long battle to save an important piece of our history. It has been so successful in educating the public that more than 20 states and many communities publish their own lists of endangered historic places.

Among the many sites that have been listed are the tobacco barns of Southern Maryland, Vieux Carré in New Orleans, Ellis Island in New York Harbor, the Kennecott Copper Mines in Alaska, the Bethlehem Steel Plant in Pennsylvania, and the village of East Aurora, New York. Each represents preservation challenges facing thousands of communities.

To ensure that the most threatened sites are chosen, the National Trust uses three primary criteria to determine the 11 finalists: significance, urgency, and potential solutions. For more information about the application process and to download the application, visit or call (202) 588-6141. Completed nominations must be postmarked by January 19, 2005.

The National Trust for Historic Preservation is a private, nonprofit membership organization dedicated to protecting the irreplaceable. Recipient of the National Humanities Medal, the Trust was founded in 1949 and provides leadership, education and advocacy to save America’s diverse historic places and revitalize communities. Its Washington, DC headquarters staff, six regional offices and 25 historic sites work with the Trust’s 200,000 members and thousands of local community groups in all 50 states. For more information, visit the Trust’s Web site at

Support Local Journalism

Your support means a better informed community. Donate today.


See more