Post open on basin’s federal committee |

Post open on basin’s federal committee

Andy Bourelle

The U.S. Forest Service is accepting nominations for someone to serve as the 20th member on the Lake Tahoe Basin Federal Advisory Committee, a group chartered to provide advice to the federal government concerning environmental restoration at Lake Tahoe.

Nominations will be accepted through Sept. 6.

The 19-member committee was established late last year by the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture, with members representing a variety of agencies and interests. The 20th member will be an at-large member.

Nominations should be sent to FACA nominations, Lake Tahoe Basin Management Unit, 870 Emerald Bay Road, South Lake Tahoe. Residents interested in obtaining more information can call Jeannie Stafford of the Forest Service at (530) 573-2642.

Members now include Steve Teshara, gaming; Rochelle Nason, regional environmental; Stan Hansen, ski resorts; Duane Wallace, South Shore economic/recreation; Kerry Miller, local government; Brian Wallace, Washoe Tribe; Dennis Machida, California; Pam Wilcox, Nevada; and Jim Baetge, Tahoe Regional Planning Agency.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around the Lake Tahoe Basin and beyond make the Tahoe Tribune's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.


See more