Sheriff holds awards ceremony |

Sheriff holds awards ceremony

Tribune staff report

Sheriff’s deputies and community volunteers were recognized as part of the 2013 El Dorado County Sheriff’s Office awards ceremony Feb. 21 at American Legion Hall in Placerville.

Sheriff John D’Agostini presented service pins to employees with 10, 15, 20 and 25 years of service to the sheriff’s office. Eight personnel who retired in 2013 also were recognized.

Other awards presented include:

Officer of the year — Dan Fulton

Correctional officer of the year — Ben Handy

Employee of the year — Peggy Wenner

Team of the year — Narcotic detectives Sgt. Mike Cook, Ben Davidson, Eric Palmberg, Dan Rath, Lance Bryant, Robert St. Pierre, Jason Bloxsom and Joe Beeson

Dispatcher of the year — Deborah Green

Sworn manager of the year — Lt. Jackie Noren

Sworn supervisor of the year — Sgt. Gary Parker

Civilian supervisor of the year — Danette Helwig

Volunteer of the year — Dan Schmidt

Citizen of the year — Beth Frisby

Bronze lifesaving medal — William Turnbull and Terrie Cissna

Certificate of lifesaving — Jennifer Merino and Ben Handy

Distinguished service award — Sgt. Jeff Leikauf

Commendations: Greg Almos, Tony Broadfoot, Michael Roberts, Jackie Todd, Mark Hangebrauck, Sgt. Matt Cathey, Christina DeWater, Gabriel Hathorne, Kathy Jacobs, Cassidy Thomason, Cortney Barbot, Rich Dean, Frank Yost, Christopher Garcia, Christina Novello, Samantha Whitlock, David Joiner, Scott Gabler and Sienna Smith.

Support Local Journalism

Your support means a better informed community. Donate today.


See more