South Lake Tahoe appoints planning committee |

South Lake Tahoe appoints planning committee

Susan Wood

The city appointed 18 members of the South Lake Tahoe community Tuesday to serve on a committee designed to plan the future of the town.

They include: retired educator Joe Bartoli, interior decorator Joyce Blackstone, retired scientist David Carneggie, real estate agent Barbara Childs, retired dental practitioner Joy Curry, parks commissioner Jerome Evans, grocery worker Kathleen Fagan, developer Danny Freemon, real estate agent Deb Howard, general contractor Del Lafountain, developer Randy Lane, nonprofit advocate Nichole Loftis, businessman Ari Makinen, small business advocate Mort Meiers, veterinarian worker Graham Sanders, real estate agent Jill Sanders, businessman Ed Smith, disaster assistance advocate Jaymee Willison.

The city is spearheading the efforts of those people wanting to provide input for South Shore planning in response to the Tahoe Regional Planning Agency’s place-based planning process. At the same time, the local government intends to have its general plan coincide with TRPA’s Pathway 2007 – its regional plan.