Special election filing begins | TahoeDailyTribune.com

Special election filing begins

The nomination period is open for the Nov. 8 Lake Tahoe area special district elections. The available seats are on community college, school, fire, community services, public utility and resort improvement districts.

A seat for District 5 Board of Supervisors, vacated earlier this month by Dave Solaro, is also open.

No candidates had filed by Monday at noon.

Declaration of candidacy papers for districts located in the Tahoe area will be available at the Recorder-Clerk’s Office located at 3368 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, Suite 108, in South Lake Tahoe. The office in Tahoe is open Monday through Friday; however, they are closed from noon to 1 p.m.

Declaration of candidacy papers may also be obtained from the El Dorado County Elections Dept., 2850 Fairlane Ct., Bldg. C, Placerville, CA.

The nomination period runs until Aug. 12 at 5 p.m. If the incumbent fails to file, then the nomination period will be extended until Aug. 17 at 5 p.m. for anyone other than the incumbent.

Unless otherwise indicated, the terms will last until Dec. 4, 2009, for full four-year terms and Dec. 7, 2007, for unexpired two-year terms.

In order to qualify for some of the board positions, a candidate must be a registered voter within the district. A candidate for Tahoe Paradise Resort Improvement District and McKinney Water District must be a landowner within the district. A candidate for the El Dorado Irrigation District must be a registered voter within the division of the district.

The following seats are up for election and the incumbents are also listed.

Community College District

— Lake Tahoe Community College District

Three seats full term held by: Roberta L. Mason, Kerry S. David and a vacant position

Unified School District

— Lake Tahoe Unified School District

Two seats full term held by: Madeline Fernald and Wendy David

Fire Protection Districts

— Meeks Bay Fire Protection District

Two seats full term held by: Dwight L. Thomas and Bruce C. Massie

Public Utility District

— Kirkwood Meadows Public Utility District (Alpine County is Lead County)

Three seats full term held by: Seat 3 – Richard F. Reuter, Seat 4 – Leo V. Smith, and Seat 5 – Peter Dornbrook

— South Lake Tahoe Public Utility District

Three seats full term held by: Seat 1 Ð Thomas Comte, Seat 2 Ð James R. Jones, and Seat 5 Ð Eric W. Schafer

Resort Improvement District – Landowner district

— Tahoe Paradise Resort Improvement District Ð Landowner District

Two seats full term held by: Debbie Henderson and Patti Stuck

Community Services Districts

— Fallen Leaf Lake Community Services District

Two seats full term held by: Linda Ramsey and Art Darrow

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around the Lake Tahoe Basin and beyond make the Tahoe Tribune's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User