Mancuso four-peats as Junior Alpine Skier of the Year |

Mancuso four-peats as Junior Alpine Skier of the Year

USSA reports

LAKE PLACID, N.Y. — Make that two straight Chevy Truck/Ski Racing Alpine Skier of the Year for Bode Miller of Franconia, N.H., and four in a row for North Shore’s Julia Mancuso as the Sprint/Ski Racing Junior Alpine Skier of the Year.

Miller followed his transcendent Olympic season — two Olympic medals, four World Cup wins and runner-up in World Cup slalom points — with an even more impressive winter. He became the first American man to collect three medals at a World Championships (gold in combined and giant slalom), won two more World Cup races and finished second overall and second in GS. It was the best U.S, men’s performance since Phil Mahre in 1983 when he won the overall and GS crowns.

Kirsten Clark of Raymond, Maine, won the women’s Alpine Skier of the Year for the second time in three seasons. “Clarky” picked up the super-G silver medal at the 2003 World Championships, finished third in the final downhill standings and posted the top U.S. women’s performance since 1996.

Mancuso, who graduated from The Winter School in Park City, Utah, ran her World Junior Championships medals total to six as she won the super-G and took the bronze medal behind gold medalist Lindsey Kildow of Vail, Colo., in downhill.

Mancuso, who won three World Juniors gold medals a year ago and was combined bronze medalist in 2001, ended her season by winning her first three U.S. titles (downhill, super-G and GS) during the Chevy Truck U.S. Alpine Championships at Whiteface Mountain outside Lake Placid.

At the same time, Jeremy Transue of Hunter, N.Y., fifth in GS at World Juniors and the top junior in super-G at the U.S. championships, was named the male Alpine Junior Skier of the Year.

Recommended Stories For You

The Skier of the Year honors were started by Ski Racing in 1975. Phil Mahre won for five straight seasons, 1976-1980 , but coincidentally never won in the three seasons in which he was the overall World Cup champion. Former teammates Cindy Nelson and Tamara McKinney, who also won the junior award twice, won the women’s honor five times.

Mancuso is the only junior to have won it more than twice.