Neitling wins firefighter race |

Neitling wins firefighter race

Dan Thrift/Tahoe Daily Tribune Mike Shreve of El Dorado Hills Station 86 foreruns the course at Sierra-at-Tahoe before the start of the Ryan Shreve Memorial Firefighter Race on Wednesday.

South Shore’s Abe Neitling led a group of four locals with his first-place finish at the inaugural Ryan Shreve Memorial Firefighter Race on Wednesday at Sierra-at-Tahoe.

A firefighter at South Lake Tahoe Fire Department, Neitling won the dual slalom race and was followed by Brennon Davis (Lake Valley Fire Department), Mitch Underhill (Lake Valley) and Sean Ward (Diamond Springs).

Forty-two racers representing seven different fire departments in Northern California participated. The race was named in honor of Ryan Shreve, a 1997 South Tahoe graduate who died on Oct. 27, 2003 due to complications from a wakeboarding accident on Folsom Lake.

Shreve was a firefighter for El Dorado Hills Fire Department, which had several employees who competed in Wednesday’s race.

“It was designed to commemorate my son’s involvement in ski racing and with Sierra-at-Tahoe,” said Mike Shreve, Ryan’s father. “The guys had always wanted to participate on Ryan’s turf. They were able to do that.”