Wood, Kacirek named both honored | TahoeDailyTribune.com

Wood, Kacirek named both honored

Steve Yingling

South Tahoe and Whittell high school basketball teams are reaping the rewards of their respective runs into the postseason.

The Vikings’ Jared Wood, a senior forward, has been selected to the Northern Nevada 4A All-region and Sierra Division first teams. In addition, South Tahoe’s leading scorer at 14.8 points per game was chosen to the Sierra Nevada Sports Media’s second team.

“He was just a workhorse,” said STHS coach Derek Allister, who earlier was chosen as the region and Sierra Division coach of the year. “I thought he had an outstanding senior year. He was so consistent. We relied on him so much to rebound, to score and to handle the ball. He was able to step up and do all of those things.”

Joining Wood on the SNSM’s second team were Elko center Gratton Miller, Galena forward Eric Maupin, guard Roman Van Allen from state champion Reno, guard Darryl Feemster from Sierra Division regular season champion Hug and utility player Louis Loutas of 2A state runner-up Hawthorne.

The selections were made by sportswriters and editors from around Northern Nevada.

Heading the SNSM’s first team were player of the year Armon Johnson, a high-scoring junior guard from Hug. Other unanimous first-team selections were Galena super sophomore center Luke Babbit and Reno senior forward J.J. Mulligan.

Recommended Stories For You

Filling out the first team were forward Jordan Stokes of 3A state runner-up Dayton, Spring Creek guard Colby Satterthwaite, Coleville guard Jacob Erickson and 6-foot-10 Douglas center Keith Olson.

Kyle Schellin, who helped Reno become the first 4A state champion from the North since South Tahoe won its second of two state titles in 1992, was selected as coach of the year in his first season.

Joel Keegan, a 6-foot-8 STHS senior center, was given honorable mention by the SNSM. Previously, Keegan had been chosen by Northern 4A coaches to the All-Sierra Division second team along with teammate Conor Freeman, while Allister’s son, K.J., received honorable mention.

Whittell senior Katrina Kacirek received first-team honors along with teammate Jessica Woods for the Northern 2A League. Those selections were made by the league’s five coaches.

Kacirek also was chosen to the SNSM’s second team, while Woods was given honorable mention.

Spring Creek’s Johnna Ward was picked as the SNSM’s player of the year, while her coach, Andy Morris, was tabbed as the top coach.

First-team selections included Ward, Galena’s Caitlyn Anderson and Caitlyn Crofts, Battle Mountain’s Tera Tremayne, Reed’s Kayla Williams and North Valleys’ Anita Burdick. Tremayne, Ward and Williams were unanimous choices.

Joining Kacirek on the second team were former South Tahoe player Monica Knight of Douglas, Elko’s Taylor Altenburg, Reed’s Mary Alice Palmer, Spring Creek’s Nicole Hawkins and Carson’s Nicole Scott.

Tara Scaduto, a senior guard for the Warriors, was chosen to the Northern 2A League second team by coaches. Whittell junior Kelly Karmann, limited to only a few league games because of early season jaw surgery, still received honorable mention.

Earlier, South Tahoe senior Katelyn Pakes, junior Coral Warren and sophomore Tess Braun received Sierra Division honorable mention honors.

Whittell senior Jeff Young was voted to the boys’ second team by Northern 2A coaches, while senior Chris Craig was given honorable mention.

Allister led South Tahoe to its first postseason appearance in six years, but took his two coaching honors in stride.

“It’s always nice to know that the other coaches think highly of what you’re doing,” Allister said. “I think it was more of a tribute that I had a group of kids who wanted to play and wanted to get better. I think I was recognized by the fact that those kids came a long way.”