Suglian, Dolan repeat as Ryan Shreve Memorial winners |

Suglian, Dolan repeat as Ryan Shreve Memorial winners

Steve Yingling, Tribune sports editor

Mikey Suglian of South Tahoe High and Grace Dolan of Incline were repeat winners of the seventh annual Ryan Shreve Memorial Trophy on Wednesday at Sierra-at-Tahoe.

Suglian won the Tahoe Basin League boys’ giant slalom ski race with a combined time of 1 minute, 26.76 seconds, and teammate Justin Smaine was runner-up at 1:29.15.

Dolan, meanwhile, scorched the girls’ field by more than four seconds with her winning time of 1:34.21. South Tahoe’s Katie Sears was second at 1:38.09.

“Katie was our biggest victory,” said STHS coach Mike Shreve, who foreran the event in honor of his late son Ryan. “Without Maddie (Bowman) there, she realized the onus was on her as the first skier, and she delivered the goods.”

South Tahoe claimed the day’s overall title with 407 points and was followed by Truckee’s 403, North Tahoe’s 321, Douglas’ 278, Carson’s 274, Whittell’s 274 and Incline’s 221.

“While we rejoiced loudly, none of the other teams had a full complement at the race,” Shreve said. “North Tahoe was without three heavy hitters on the boys and girls’ sides; all of which won a race this year.”

Truckee’s boys placed three in the top 5, but the Vikings depth took over from there as Jason Elder was sixth, Tyler Cottrill was 10th, Dillon McKeen placed 13th, Mark Bergsohn finished 14th and Chad Kaassamani came in 17th. Cottrill, a freshman, was making his first varsity start after winning the three previous JV races.

“He definitely earned a spot, and I’m looking forward to what he can accomplish over the next three years,” Shreve said.

Leading the Whittell boys’ cause were Matt Schorr in 15th, Peter Jones in 23rd, Eric Ward in 27th, Kody Dangtongdee in 34th and Jenner Felton in 38th.

Boys’ team scores were South Tahoe 209, Truckee 207, North Tahoe 154, Douglas 149, Whittell 129, Carson City 129 and Incline 79. Girls’ team scores were South Tahoe 198, Truckee 196, North Tahoe 167, Incline 142, Carson 145, Whittell 130 and Douglas 129.

Danica Bunnett and Mikela Mangiaracini also cracked the top 10 for the Vikings’ girls. Bunnett was eighth at 1:46.40 and Mangiaracini ninth at 1:46.73. Also for the Vikings, Melissa Smith came in 11th, Ayden Williamson was 12th, Shannon Colleton placed 15th and Kailey Killeen was 19th.

Natalie Pinero led the Whittell girls, finishing 16th, Sammy Brumbach placed 22nd, Chelsea Pfotenhauer took 25th, Lexi Brooks was 34th, Taryn Bourne claimed 35th, Marlo Smith was 37th and Skylar Smith finished 41st.

South Tahoe’s Brady Hiob won the JV race, and his combined time of 1:37.38 would have placed him 15th overall in the varsity race. A slew of teammates finished behind him, with Connor Henderson second, Jake Krazczek fourth, Joe Zanatell fifth, Grant Fagen eighth, Garrett Singler ninth, Noah Palmieri 11th, Luke Daun 12th, Alex Fails 15th, Josh Johnson 17th and Crewe Goralski 18th.

The TBL visits Heavenly Mountain Resort on Thursday, Feb. 3 for two races. 9:30 on World Cup Run.

Support Local Journalism

Your support means a better informed community. Donate today.


See more