Tahoe Chamber announces winners of 2016 Blue Ribbon Awards | TahoeDailyTribune.com

Tahoe Chamber announces winners of 2016 Blue Ribbon Awards

The seven Blue Ribbon award winners, both businesses and employees, pose with their awards on Nov. 10.
Courtesy / Tahoe Chamber

The winners of the 9th annual Blue Ribbon Awards were announced last Thursday, Nov. 10, in front of a crowd of nearly 300 South Shore community members at Hard Rock Hotel and Casino

The Tahoe Chamber event celebrated the seven award winners — selected from over 80 nominees — with a cocktail hour, three-course meal and awards presentation.

The Blue Ribbon Awards recognize businesses and employees in seven categories: Geotourism, Tourism, Experience, Entrepreneur, Customer Service (Business), Customer Service (Public Agency) and Wendall Award — for a green business or program.

“The concept was started as a result of some of the negative views that are out there in regards to the Tahoe Business community. We wanted a way to show the community that there are great businesses here that provide exceptional service and experiences,” said Emily Abernathy, events director for the Tahoe Chamber.

Winners received an award, free membership to the Tahoe Chamber and signage to display at their business.

The following are the winners for the 2016 Blue Ribbon Awards:

Geotourism AwardSponsored by Bike the West
Winner: Taylor Creek Visitors Center, United States Forest Service
Honorable Mention: Lake Tahoe Bicycle Coalition

Tourism AwardSponsored by Lake Tahoe Visitors Authority
Winner: The Loft
Honorable Mention: Coachman Hotel

Experience AwardSponsored by Marriott Grand Residence Club
Winner: Alpine Sierra Tours
Honorable Mention: Treat Street, KRLT/KOWL

Entrepreneur AwardSponsored by Getaway Reno/Tahoe
Winner: Debbie Brown, Coldwater Brewery & Grill
Honorable Mention: Cassy Burnside, FATCO

Customer Service (Business) AwardSponsored by Heavenly & Kirkwood
Winner: Tommy Walker, Ciera Steakhouse at Montbleu Resort & Spa
Honorable Mention: Kimberly Templeton, Hard Rock Café Lake Tahoe

Customer Service (Public Agency) Award – Sponsored by Tahoe Supply Company
Winner: Jody Filgo, South Lake Tahoe Senior Center
Honorable Mention: Irma Salazar, Lake Tahoe Visitors Authority

Wendell Award for a Green Business or ProgramSponsored by South Tahoe Refuse and Recycling
Winner: Tahoe Mountain Lab
Honorable Mention: League to Save Lake Tahoe

Bryan Vargem was also awarded the Tahoe Chamber Ambassador of the Year Award for his dedication as a volunteer to the program.

“As an active Tahoe Chamber ambassador, Bryan is the force behind Tahoe Chamber’s special events, ribbon cuttings and Connect for a Cause Mixers,” according to a Tahoe Chamber release.

The Tahoe Chamber is a bi-state organization dedicated to developing, promoting and representing Lake Tahoe’s South Shore business community.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around the Lake Tahoe Basin and beyond make the Tahoe Tribune's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User