Transportation commission chairman elected |

Transportation commission chairman elected

Mike Schneider

Douglas County Commissioner Steve Weissinger was elected to the post of Regional Transportation Commission chairman Thursday.

Loren Orr was elected vice chair.

The commission, created by the Tahoe Regional Planning Agency’s push to classify the Tahoe Basin as a Metropolitan Planning Organization, was formerly called the Tahoe Transportation Commission during the MPO planning process.

The board will consist of the nine voting members from the Tahoe Transportation District, one representative from the U.S. Forest Service’s Lake Tahoe Basin Management Unit, one representative from the Washoe Tribe and one representative from a citizen’s committee.

The board is responsible for developing recommendations and feeding them to the MPO governing board, according to Dick Powers, executive director of the South Shore Transportation Management Association. The MPO board consists of the the TRPA governing board plus a forest service representative.

The appointments are for 1999.

Back to Front Page

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around the Lake Tahoe Basin and beyond make the Tahoe Tribune's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.