Two races kick off filing for Douglas election |

Two races kick off filing for Douglas election

Kurt Hildebrand, The Record-Courier

Within 30 minutes of the Douglas County Clerk’s Office opening, two races for county commission have already shaped up.

Gardnerville Ranchos builder Greg Lynn and activist Dave Nelson filed for the District 1 seat occupied by Commissioner Jim Baushke.

North County residents Michael Olson and Stuart Posselt both filed for the District 5 commission seat presently occupied by Chairman Kelly Kite. Kite is prevented from running again by term limits, Baushke has indicated he would not seek re-election.

First to file at the Clerk’s Office on Monday was County Commissioner Doug Johnson, who is seeking his second term.

Johnson is a Ruhenstroth resident.

Minden resident Raymond G. Wilson is seeking his sixth term on the Minden Town Board.

“We’re the longest serving board in the county,” Wilson said.

Gardnerville resident Teri Susan Jamin filed for school board trustee district 5.

Gardnerville Town Board member Randy Slater signed up for his fourth term. Slater said this is his last term on the board before he’s term-limited out.

Minden Gardnerville Sanitation District board members Bud Brown and Ron Wilcks filed for re-election.

Roy Clason Jr. signed up for Tahoe-Douglas Fire District and Ross Harold Swickard signed up for the Tahoe Douglas Sewer District.

Support Local Journalism

Your support means a better informed community. Donate today.


See more