Web site lists 41 sex offenders in the city | TahoeDailyTribune.com

Web site lists 41 sex offenders in the city

William Ferchland

A new Web site detailing more than 63,000 sex offenders in California revealed there are 41 offenders living in South Lake Tahoe.

The site, http://www.meganslaw.ca.gov, was unveiled by California Attorney General Bill Lockyer last week. It was the fruition of legislation signed into law three months ago.

“This important tool will help Californians better protect their families and help law enforcement keep track of offenders who have violated registration laws,” Lockyer said. “With only 80,000 law enforcement officers assigned to safeguard a state of 35 million people, we depend on help from citizens to keep our communities safe.”

The most serious offenders, those who were convicted of a sexual act on a person under the age of 14 or a crime that involved fear or force, have their addresses listed. Twenty-eight out of the 41 offenders have their addresses shown within the city limits of South Lake Tahoe.

The site lists the person’s offenses, aliases and visible marks such as tattoos. It also gives a fact sheet on sex offenders and other tips.

While the database allows a search of those living around schools and parks and streets, there were no listings of offenders living within two miles of Lake Tahoe Unified School District school sites.

Interim Superintendent Lorraine Garcy was pleased with the news.

“I feel positively strongly about Megan’s Law and the reason is I think it’s a way for parents to be able to know what’s going on around their neighborhood to protect their children,” she said.

After 1996, when the law took affect, the public was able to view information on area sex offenders. The South Lake Tahoe Police Department had information on a compact disc that people were able to view on Fridays.

Those convicted of sexual crimes are ordered by a judge to register as a sex offender. They must re-register annually within five days of their birthday. They also must register with law enforcement within 60 days if they move. After Jan. 1, they must register 30 days after a move.

Bob Albertazzi, community service officer, said only two people on average wished to see the disc during the past six months. Prior to that, the average number of visits was around 10.

Police Lt. Terry Daniels said he hasn’t heard of any complaints or inquiries to the department after the state launched the Web site Dec. 15.

Later this month the Placer County Sheriff’s Department let residents of a mobile home park in Tahoe Vista know their manager was a registered sex offender.

Norman Milsaps, the on-site manager hired in the fall, was convicted in 1998 for sexually molesting an 11-year-old.

Without “intense therapy and intervention” registered sex offenders might act on their impulses, said Jennifer Kline, court advocate for the South Lake Tahoe Women’s Center.

“It’s very important that people who have children know where these people are in our community,” she said.

– E-mail William Ferchland at wferchland@tahoedailytribune.com


Support Local Journalism

Your support means a better informed community. Donate today.


News


See more