Recent Stories | TahoeDailyTribune.com

Recent Stories in Opinion

Guest column: Progress made on workforce housing but more can be done (opinion)

September 19, 2018 — In classic Tahoe style, when there is a problem we study it. In the past five years, the housing issue has been studied on several fronts. In that time, the Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, Placer County and the North Tahoe-Truckee area have all conducted housing

Learn more »

Letter: Consider fees, not a ban, to fix VHR issues (opinion)

September 18, 2018 — I'm a resident of San Francisco and my vacation home is in South Lake Tahoe in a residential neighborhood. I've been closely following the issues debating vacation home rentals. The city of SLT doesn't have a numerous police staff to handle nuisance complaints as other

Learn more »

Letter: Jessica Morse the right choice for Congress (opinion)

September 18, 2018 — There's an election around the corner, and we have a choice for our congressional representation in Washington, D.C. Jessica Morse is running a competitive campaign against incumbent Tom McClintock (CA-4), and I'm thrilled. I had a chance to meet Morse at a house party early

Learn more »

Guest column: Cannabis referendum bad for South Lake Tahoe (opinion)

September 14, 2018 — Fellow South Lake Tahoe residents, if you signed the petition to suspend the city's cannabis ordinance, you may have been deceived. If you haven't yet added your signature, know that doing so may be against your own self-interest. Should Mr. Bass (DBA Tahoe Wellness Cooperative)

Learn more »

Guest column: South Lake Tahoe should change sandwich board policy (opinion)

September 13, 2018 — Owning a small business in South Lake Tahoe is no easy feat. It's particularly difficult when you are a relatively new business and are still trying to establish a name for yourself. Last summer, the first summer The Bar, a fitness studio, was in its

Learn more »

Letter: Fantastic fireworks at Lake Tahoe (opinion)

September 12, 2018 — The July Fourth fireworks were the best. I especially appreciated the many patriotic songs and music. The crowd always applauded when a patriotic piece was played. It would be great if all the songs were patriotic as that is what July Fourth is all about.

Learn more »

Letter: STMS Club Live thanks the community (opinion)

September 12, 2018 — Twenty- five years ago a group of local concerned adults met as part of the Tahoe Prevention Network. These adults were committed to bringing the new middle school alternative activities program Club Live to South Tahoe Middle School. Their efforts were successful, and this past

Learn more »

Letter: Interview with Zephyr Cove beachcomber (opinion)

September 11, 2018 — In visiting Zephyr Cove, we noticed a person who came to the beach each day and would stroll the length of the beach and clean and pick up trash. I thought it might be interesting to ask him some questions. My questions and his answers

Learn more »

Letter: In Response to Jim Clark’s column ‘How to handle public comments’ (opinion)

September 11, 2018 — In response to Jim Clark's column in the Tahoe Daily Tribune Aug. 17 on "How to handle public comments." Paying for our comments. What a novel idea. Jim Clark suggested: "How about assessing public comment $1 for the first minute, $5 for the next two

Learn more »

Letter: Vote for South Lake Tahoe VHR ban (opinion)

September 11, 2018 — There ought to be a compromise letting city homeowners rent out their houses to vacationers, but the topic is controversial. The city once felt residents should know what was permissible in their neighborhoods and maintained an online database listing. This has been removed. Maybe residents

Learn more »

Publisher’s Perspective: Tahoe Daily Tribune launching new football contest

September 7, 2018 — For those of you who love NFL football, or even those who would love the chance to travel to Hawaii, the Tribune has launched an NFL pro pick 'em contest that may allow you to do both. The pick 'em contest is simple. Sign up

Learn more »

On Politics: Time to address flaws with Incline Village roundabout (opinion)

September 5, 2018 — If you have lived here any length of time you will remember the old traffic bottleneck at the intersection of Nevada Routes 431 and 28. Returning from Reno the twisty, winding road ascending the Sierra Nevada's eastern terminus abruptly straightened at Mt. Rose's 9,000 foot

Learn more »

Ribaudo column: Smoke from regional wildfires impacts Lake Tahoe tourism (opinion)

September 4, 2018 — Local Musings As if concern over whether we will have snow each year to support the winter economy wasn't enough, we now have to contend with the impact of fire and smoke on the South Shore economy. Luckily for the South Shore, we have not

Learn more »

Setting the record straight

September 3, 2018 — I ran for El Dorado County supervisor as I thought I was the best candidate, with the best qualifications, that could solve the issues we face. After the race for supervisor concluded with the top two advancing to November, I have bowed out of the

Learn more »

Washington turmoil captured in proverbs

September 3, 2018 — Recently I came across a treasure trove of proverbs ("short pithy sayings stating a general truth or piece of advice") and thought it would be interesting to see which ones might apply to the present political turmoil in Washington. Some of my favorites: "Facts do

Learn more »

Incline lesson (revisited 1 more time)

September 3, 2018 — On June 18, the Tahoe Daily Tribune (TDT) published an opinion editorial by Jim Clark with the same title as this posting. Jim sought to explain the historical basis of the political divide within our community that manifests itself in never-ending arguments about spending priorities

Learn more »

Publisher’s Perspective: End of summer deserves the best of Tahoe (opinion)

September 1, 2018 — As Labor Day weekend descends upon us, it is traditionally earmarked as the end of summer. I'm sure many of you are thinking where the heck summer went, and many of you (myself included) are glad school is back in. Regardless of how you approach

Learn more »

Forest Service: Tips for a safe Labor Day weekend at Lake Tahoe

August 31, 2018 — Here are some tips and important information for residents and visitors to keep in mind for a safe and fun-filled holiday weekend.

Learn more »

Incline Village GM Corner: A fuller Lake Tahoe means smaller beaches (opinion)

August 30, 2018 — Thanks to all of you who filled the Chateau to capacity for our Beaches 101 presentation back on July 11. For those of you who missed the presentation, no problem! Just go to the "Resources" section of our website (yourtahoeplace.com) and you can watch the

Learn more »

Guest column: What’s wrong with this picture? (opinion)

August 29, 2018 — At the July 9 trustee candidate debate for the Incline Village General Improvement District Board of Trustees, Kendra Wong when asked what actions she had taken as Board Chair against the employees who illegally sold public land and launched a lawsuit without board approval, she

Learn more »