Recent Stories | TahoeDailyTribune.com

Recent Stories in Opinion

Letter: More questions about possible IVGID role in failed transportation grant application (opinion)

January 18, 2019 — I read with great interest the editorial (or letter to the editor) that was submitted by Frank Wright in last week's Tahoe Daily Tribune edition and I find it appalling that an elected official acting outside the governing board's authority has committed $7.5 million of

Learn more »

Tahoe Roads: Be prepared when traveling during winter months at Lake Tahoe (opinion)

January 18, 2019 — The season of snow is upon us once again and it’s as important as ever to remember that winter weather is never predictable.

Learn more »

Letter: Thanks to Ricky Reich and Lisa Maloff (opinion)

January 14, 2019 — As the director of the El Dorado Community Foundation I am graced with a perspective, which is knowing the very best of people. In a moment where we question what we are becoming, with some trepidation, I find myself blessed to always have a reason

Learn more »

Kudos: Overwhelming support for Christmas Cheer All Year (opinion)

January 10, 2019 — The Lake Tahoe Visitors Authority would like to thank the community for the donations of toys, food and $1,675 in cash, (including $800 from Reno-Tahoe Territory and $500 from South Lake Tahoe Lodging Association) that was dropped of for Christmas Cheer All Year at the

Learn more »

Kudos: South Tahoe Association of Realtors thanks community for supporting holiday ‘wish tree’ (opinion)

January 10, 2019 — With the holiday season just around the corner and the children starting their winter break, the South Lake Tahoe Association of Realtors would like to thank everyone who participated in the Boys and Girls Club of Lake Tahoe's Wish Tree this holiday season. It was

Learn more »

Letter: Did IVGID chair’s letter torpedo transportation grant? (opinion)

January 10, 2019 — The Tahoe Transportation District (TTD) failed to receive a Build Grant from the U.S. Department of Transportation for a proposed bike path around Lake Tahoe. It was widely reported that Incline Village General Improvement District had volunteered $7.5 million in matching funds had the grant

Learn more »

Tom McClintock column: Why our border matters (opinion)

January 8, 2019 — Every nation has a natural right and responsibility to determine who is admitted to its borders. This is what defines a country and ultimately determines whether its culture, values and institutions will endure. The unique qualities that develop within each country's borders naturally make some

Learn more »

Guest column: South Lake Tahoe City Council must honor voters’ will on Measure T (opinion)

January 8, 2019 — On Nov. 6, the vacation home rental (VHR) issue was finally decided. The status quo was voted out. After years of failure by the City Council to meaningfully address the problems of VHRs in our residential neighborhoods, the voters passed Measure T, rejecting VHRs in

Learn more »

Incline Village GM’s Corner: We always enjoy hearing from you (opinion)

January 2, 2019 — Recently, the Board of Trustees reviewed IVGID's comprehensive annual financial report (CAFR) for the fiscal year ended June 30, 2018. While most everyone is familiar with the district's budget document, which authorizes the spending of money, the CAFR describes what was actually spent and the

Learn more »

Ribaudo column: Lots of unknowns heading into 2019 on Lake Tahoe South Shore (opinion)

December 31, 2018 — Local musings "It's the unanswered questions that make it worth getting up in the morning." — Stephen King As we close out 2018, perhaps at no other time has this community faced so many unanswered questions. There are always unanswered questions, but we have a

Learn more »

Guest column: No Globe Alliance provides SnowGlobe info for locals (opinion)

December 29, 2018 — SnowGlobe 2018 is here! We are asking local residents to please give the new sound engineering a chance. The SnowGlobe organization has committed to changes this year and they are hoping to reduce the sound to livable levels. The sound restrictions for this event remain

Learn more »

Kudos: Support for Winter Extravaganza (opinion)

December 27, 2018 — The South Tahoe Branch Library would like to extend its thanks to Jessie Holtz and the members of SOS Outreach for volunteering at the annual Winter Extravaganza. Their help and enthusiasm made the program a great success. We couldn't have done it without you! Maria

Learn more »

Kudos: Thank you Jude Wood for opening the Boys and Girls Club to Sierra House students (opinion)

December 27, 2018 — As if the holidays are not busy enough, the recent fire at Sierra House resulted in a need to relocate third grade Sierra House students from Dec. 12-14 and the entire Sierra House school from Dec. 17-Feb. 15. Where will these students go, you ask?

Learn more »

Tahoe Regional Planning Agency column: Strengthening Lake Tahoe with collaboration (opinion)

December 26, 2018 — Collaboration is not just a buzz word. It is the hard work of listening to differing interests and finding common ground. It means standing in one another's shoes and crediting all points of view. It is often uncomfortable to give ground. But when we do

Learn more »

Letter: What does Donald Trump have to do with Lake Tahoe South Shore pedestrian issues? (opinion)

December 23, 2018 — This is in response to Kay Ebeling's letter on Nov. 2. She had a great letter complaining about pedestrians being second class citizens to Lime scooters and Lime bikes and other bikes, and bike lanes not being used. Let's take it a step further, bikes/scooters

Learn more »

Kudos: I love the new bus schedule (opinion)

December 23, 2018 — Not only is it much more convenient, it actually is relieving stress for me, to know that if I miss one bus I only have a 20-minute wait for the next one, instead of an entire hour the way it used to be. I live

Learn more »

Bread & Broth: Tahoe/Douglas Rotary Club Supports Community

December 18, 2018 — "Tahoe/Douglas Rotary Club loves to support Bread & Broth and all its volunteers," stated Rotarian Ashley Colvin while volunteering as an Adopt A Day of Nourishment sponsor crew member. "B&B is such a wonderful program that our community is lucky to have.” Fortunately for B&B,

Learn more »

Balcita: Stories shine light on hardships faced by South Lake Tahoe residents suffering homelessness

December 17, 2018 — The holiday season is here and with it has come the cold weather and for some it has brought mounds of debt from buying gifts to impress people they don't like. In all of the joys and dramas of the holiday season, it can be

Learn more »

Publisher’s Perspective: Changes at South Lake Tahoe City Hall (opinion)

December 17, 2018 — The new City Council members are all sworn in. Measure T results are (finally) final. What can we expect in the coming year? What should we expect in the coming year? Let's start with Measure T. We all know the controversy surrounding this. Having passed

Learn more »

Successful annual Spaghetti Dinner

December 15, 2018 — Saint Joseph Community Land Trust would like to thank the community for helping us celebrate another successful year at our annual Spaghetti Dinner last month at Saint Theresa's Grace Hall. Special thanks goes to the Knights of Columbus, Council 10611/St. Theresa and their exemplary chefs

Learn more »