Recent Stories | TahoeDailyTribune.com

Recent Stories in Opinion

Kudos: Thanks for supporting Soroptimist International of South Lake Tahoe (opinion)

November 14, 2018 — Thank you for your past support of our wine tasting event. Because of your generous contributions over the last 20 years Soroptimist International of South Lake Tahoe has been able to give back to our community over $1,040,822 in scholarships, awards and grants. Please purchase

Learn more »

Support for Summer Reading Challenge

November 14, 2018 — The South Lake Tahoe Library wrapped up another great Summer Reading Challenge, which encourages children, teens and adults to read all summer long. Patrons at our library logged a total of 5,236 books and earned a total of 817 prizes! We would like to thank

Learn more »

Guest column: Decision time approaches for US 50 South Shore Community Revitalization Project (opinion)

November 13, 2018 — For several years, the Tahoe Transportation District (TTD) has worked diligently to evolve Lake Tahoe's transportation system to meet the region's growing needs. Part of this effort has included resurrecting the U.S. 50 South Shore Community Revitalization Project to realize the redevelopment vision that has

Learn more »

Tahoe Roads: Recapping 2018 roadwork on South Shore (opinion)

November 11, 2018 — Editor's note: This is the first column in a newly monthly feature intended to update readers about Caltrans' projects and other road-related news. Roadwork season 2018 is complete and Caltrans is proud to update South Lake Tahoe motorists on the improvements made this summer that

Learn more »

Tahoe Daily Tribune 2018 election endorsements (opinion)

November 6, 2018 — Measure T in South Lake Tahoe? (opinion) Cole, Middlebrook, Wallace for South Lake Tahoe City Council (opinion) Endorsements for El Dorado County supervisor, Measure J, cannabis questions (opinion)

Learn more »

Letter: Ellen Palazzo is right choice for city clerk (opinion)

November 5, 2018 — Ellen Palazzo is the right choice for our next South Lake Tahoe City Clerk. She brings a rich background of education and experience to this job. Graduated from LTCC with AA degree Certified Municipal Clerk Enrolled in Master Municipal Clerk program 22 years experience in

Learn more »

Letter: Do pedestrians have any rights any more? (opinion)

November 5, 2018 — I get it, this is the Trump era, a time of "we'll see what happens" attitudes. I just want to know, what part of the road is left for pedestrians in this devil-may-care, every man for themselves era? I was so happy that we city

Learn more »

Letter: Vote for Wallace, Grego, Davis (opinion)

November 5, 2018 — The wrong group of people are running our city. They've got almost every issue wrong. The one that really burns me is their trying to get back at we voters because their sales tax for road repairs failed. Now as payback against us they haven't

Learn more »

Letter: Vote for Tom McClintock (opinion)

November 5, 2018 — Please join me, my family and most of my friends in our efforts to keep the U.S. House of Representatives in the Republican column. A takeover by the left would likely result in a larger federal government, higher taxes, less individual freedom, a further disregarding

Learn more »

Letter: Vote for Sass and Bass (opinion)

November 5, 2018 — In the upcoming election vote for knowledge — the two who have it are Sass and Bass. They both do their homework. Can't wait. Carol Olivas South Lake Tahoe, California

Learn more »

Letter: Sass for South Lake Tahoe City Council (opinion)

November 5, 2018 — I was happy to learn that Austin Sass has decided to run for re-election to City Council. Sass is the only council member who will speak up and go out on a limb to do what is right for our community. He has pushed hard

Learn more »

Letter: Why I’m asking for your vote (opinion)

November 5, 2018 — I have had the great pleasure and awesome responsibility of serving as a member of your City Council for the past eight years. In these past eight years, we have faced some challenges, but we have also had much success as a council and a

Learn more »

Letter: Committed to future of South Lake Tahoe (opinion)

November 5, 2018 — Our community has less than one week before Nov. 6 when Election Day arrives. There are many important issues on the ballot. My husband and I just mailed ours in on Monday and I was reminded again of how fortunate we are to live in

Learn more »

Letter: Political nastiness comes to Incline Village (opinion)

November 5, 2018 — You may want to think twice before you decide to step up to serve your community as an IVGID board member (as did Tim Callicrate). Have a DUI from 25 years ago? Maybe had a nasty divorce? Ever had a few too many and got

Learn more »

Letters: Vote ‘no’ for Measure T (opinion)

November 3, 2018 — The following letters were published in the Nov. 2 Tribune. Letter: Will Measure T solve the housing issue? (opinion) Letter: Measure T is not the answer (opinion) Letter: Measure T — don't throw the baby out with the bath water (opinion) Letter: South Lake Tahoe

Learn more »

Letters: Vote ‘yes’ for Measure T (opinion)

November 3, 2018 — The following letters were published in the Nov. 2 Tribune. Letter: Vote 'Yes' on Measure T (opinion) Letter: Our neighborhoods are in danger — vote Yes on Measure T (opinion) Letter: David vs. Goliath: Follow the 'Measure T' money (opinion) Letter: Measure T opposition is

Learn more »

Letter: Measure T opposition is desperate (opinion)

November 2, 2018 — Desperation — a state of despair, typically one that results in rash or extreme behavior. This must be the mental state of those opposed to Measure T. The fear mongering they are resorting too has reached an all-time low. They are claiming voting YES on

Learn more »

Letter: South Lake Tahoe City Council’s failures put Measure T on the ballot (opinion)

November 2, 2018 — If you believe the negative impacts of vacation rentals in residential neighborhoods outweigh the benefits you should vote YES on Measure T. If you believe VHRs have changed the character of our neighborhoods, reduced available housing for residents, and ignored our zoning laws, you should

Learn more »

Letter: David vs. Goliath: Follow the ‘Measure T’ money (opinion)

November 2, 2018 — When "Goliath" (No on T) characterized themselves as a "grassroots" organization, their high powered/paid strategists failed to realize that "David" (Yes on T), the real grassroots group of residents and supporters in South Lake Tahoe, saw right through their desperate attempt to fool and scare

Learn more »

Letter: Vote ‘Yes’ on Measure T in South Lake Tahoe (opinion)

November 2, 2018 — Property rights fall within the guidelines of zoning. Yes on Measure T protects your property right to not have a motel next door to you. The idea is that residential zoning is for residents. Vacation Home Rentals are businesses. They need a license and pay

Learn more »