Recent Stories | TahoeDailyTribune.com

Recent Stories in Opinion

Guest column: Vote to keeps El Dorado County Board of Supervisors intact

May 23, 2018 — As a native of Northern California whose memories of El Dorado County go back to the 1950s, I strongly encourage the voters of District 4 and 5 to keep the present County Board of Supervisors intact by reelecting both Supervisor Michael Ranalli and Supervisor Sue

Learn more »

Proposals for tackling seemingly impossible tasks

May 22, 2018 — Winston Churchill was famous for expounding pithy yet meaningful phrases. One of his best was: "Democracy is the worst form of government … except all others." Was he correct? Maybe, maybe not. Economist Dambisa Moyo, an African American scholar born in Zambia, earned her BS

Learn more »

Guest column: Tahoe Coalition for the Homeless grateful for community support (opinion)

May 22, 2018 — On behalf of Tahoe Coalition for the Homeless (TCH), I would like to thank our community for its support during the third winter season of the South Lake Tahoe Warm Room project. Our organization received donations from over 150 different individuals and businesses and benefited

Learn more »

Letter: Memorial Day celebration in Incline Village (opinion)

May 22, 2018 — To all Veterans,families, friends and supporters; The Memorial Day Holiday starts the fabulous summer season here at Lake Tahoe. This holiday means the first trip to the lake, backyard barbecues, first boating trip on the lake and being with family and friends. But Memorial Day

Learn more »

Ask Tessie: What’s the point of voting in June?

May 21, 2018 — Dear Tessie, Voting is the actual worst. I mean does one vote even matter? Maybe I'm missing something, but I'm definitely sitting out this upcoming election in June. Sincerely, Apathetic Voter I've got words for you, Apathetic Voter. Lots of words. You must be part

Learn more »

LTVA column: Tahoe South continues full speed into summer with national media exposure (opinion)

May 18, 2018 — The transition to summer brings new opportunities and once again South Lake Tahoe will be front and center a national stage in more ways than one. The Amgen Tour of California returns May 18 and will reinforce Lake Tahoe's appeal as one of the country's

Learn more »

Guest column: Will new VHR initiative be the answer for South Lake Tahoe? (opinion)

May 17, 2018 — By now most have heard of the initiative sponsored by the Sustainable Community Alliance (SCA), which calls for maintaining vacation home rental regulations while making some minor changes to the current code. I appreciate that people keep bringing items to the table for consideration and

Learn more »

Letter: Use #RobinRocks to remember Tahoe resident Robin Rittenhouse (opinion)

May 16, 2018 — Robin Rittenhouse, a 20-year local, passed away April 8 of ovarian cancer. Robin was a avid hiker and gardener. She loved collecting rocks on all her many hikes . To honor her, all her friends started a project called Robins Rocks. They are hand-painted messages

Learn more »

Publisher’s Perspective: Best of Tahoe finalist voting starts today (opinion)

May 16, 2018 — The nominations are in and the top finalists are ready for your vote. Beginning today, and running through Wednesday, May 30, the public is able to vote for the finalists in each of the seven groups. Some kudos should be given to the community. While

Learn more »

Kudos: South Lake Tahoe Taxaide Team helps South Shore residents (opinion)

May 16, 2018 — Despite the rough March weather, we helped record numbers of our fellow residents file complete and accurate returns (640, a 6 percent increase over last year). Refunds of $795,646 were processed, with $235,913 balance due. That means that over a half million dollars was returned

Learn more »

Guest column: Generous donors changing lives at Lake Tahoe Community College — 1 student at a time (opinion)

May 15, 2018 — Donors to the Lake Tahoe Community College (LTCC) Foundation are changing the lives of our local students. Kimberly Barnett-Burton, a South Tahoe High School graduate and single mom of a young son, is now an LTCC graduate who dreams of earning her bachelor's degree and

Learn more »

Guest column: Rebuttal to Clark ‘On Politics’ opinion on gun violence (opinion)

May 15, 2018 — I respectfully disagree with the title, much of the content and the conclusion of this opinion column: "Congress actually doing something on gun violence." Congress has not done anything to stop the killing of children and adults except to wait for the outrage of each

Learn more »

Letter: Pence appearance at NRA convention a bad move (opinion)

May 15, 2018 — It is remarkable that the vice president would choose to send a strong message of support for a powerful and controversial lobby organization by speaking at the NRA convention in Dallas. As a firearm owner, I am shocked at his disrespect for the countless American

Learn more »

Ask Tessie: How do I handle an annoying coworker?

May 14, 2018 — Dear Tessie, I have a really irritating coworker who grates on my nerves every day. She listens to her music loudly in the neighboring cubicle, and her phone voice? Don't even get me started. Some of us are trying to get work done around here.

Learn more »

On Politics: Washoe County assessor stands for the taxpayers (opinion)

May 13, 2018 — "Nothing is certain but death and taxes." Both have a long history. Before answering a calling to be an apostle St. Matthew worked as a tax collector. The tax law was somewhat imprecise so Matthew collected whatever he felt like and sent only part of

Learn more »

Guest column: El Dorado County Supervisor Sue Novasel is good for District 5 (opinion)

May 11, 2018 — It has come to my attention that there may be an erroneous rumor flying around Lake Tahoe with regard to Supervisor Novasel's interaction and participation with Pollock Pines. I am a long-time resident of Pollock Pines having enjoyed many various community positions within Pollock Pines

Learn more »

Kudos: Barton skilled nursing facility: A heaven’s gate for seniors (opinion)

May 10, 2018 — It is with great pride and enthusiasm that we would like to share with our community here at South Shore Lake Tahoe a wonderful experience we had with our parents at Barton Senior Care unit. This facility offers the elderly complete assisted living with home-like

Learn more »

Letter: South Lake Tahoe City Council needs to quit stalling on cannabis (opinion)

May 10, 2018 — You think the City Council could realize that legal cannabis sales here is going to help bring in money from taxes on sales. It will help subsidize our roads, fire etc. They need to quit dragging their feet on cannabis and stop spending money trying

Learn more »

Letter: Morse will fight for us in Congress (opinion)

May 10, 2018 — Our congressperson, Mr. McClintock, pays too much attention to national issues and national donors, and not enough attention to our district. In 10 years, he has accomplished nothing. We have serious issues: fire prevention, water storage, and skill training for good-paying jobs. McClintock's solutions of

Learn more »

Letter: Big money wins when it comes to Tahoe locals’ needs and VHRs (opinion)

May 10, 2018 — Even though I respect both Ted Kennedy and Jim Morris, I disagree with both of them and I especially take offense to Jim's comment about "selfish locals and their entitlement attitudes." It seems when it comes to locals' needs (especially housing) big money wins. I

Learn more »