Recent Stories | TahoeDailyTribune.com

Recent Stories in Opinion

Editor’s Notes: Shining a spotlight on our local nonprofits

February 17, 2018 — Hopefully you had the opportunity to read last Saturday's cover story on the Tahoe Women's Community Fund (if you didn't, you can do so at http://bit.ly/2Hk19xg). For the sake of bringing everyone up to speed, the Tahoe Women's Community Fund is a nonprofit that uses

Learn more »

Letter: Outraged by attempt to destroy South Lake Tahoe city manager’s excellent reputation (opinion)

February 14, 2018 — Editor's note: The following is an open letter penned by former Tribune employee and former South Lake Tahoe Mayor Claire Fortier. Mayor David and members of council, I am outraged at the seemingly underhanded manner in which council is handling the termination of a highly

Learn more »

Letter: South Lake Tahoe businessman — ‘extremely impressed’ by Nancy Kerry (opinion)

February 14, 2018 — Editor's note: The following is an open letter penned by local businessman Ted Kennedy. Dear Mayor David, Hello, my name is Ted Kennedy — I am a partner in the following businesses in town: Base camp pizza; Azul Latin Kitchen; California Burger Co.; Poke Rok;

Learn more »

Guest column: Kerry unfairly criticized, defamed (opinion)

February 12, 2018 — On Feb. 8, the Tahoe Daily Tribune, based on seven anonymous sources, destroyed City Manager Nancy Kerry's reputation. As the former city manager prior to Nancy Kerry, I know the challenges, rewards and pitfalls of managing cities. Given the average tenure of a City Manager

Learn more »

Ask Tessie: What should single people do for Valentine’s Day in Tahoe?

February 12, 2018 — Dear Tessie, I know in the past you've given some pretty solid advice on how to meet a special someone in Tahoe. Don't worry; this is not another one of those requests. I'm single and loving it, but I'm dying to hear your suggestions on

Learn more »

Guest column: Peace, love and killing bears (opinion)

February 11, 2018 — In a shocking display of disregard for public values, the Nevada Wildlife Commission voted on Jan. 27 to expand the 2018 bear hunt, adding two more hunt units and expanding the time hunters can kill bears to before sunrise and after sunset. Commissioner and hunter

Learn more »

Publisher’s Perspective: Changes to Friday Tribune (opinion)

February 11, 2018 — If you saw the announcement in the Wednesday print edition of the Tribune this week, you are aware of the change that will be happening to next week's Friday edition. For those who did not see it, here is a brief recap: This Thursday (Feb.

Learn more »

Letter: In response to letter on McClintock and Trump (opinion)

February 11, 2018 — Are you on my team? That is not a bad question to ask his top appointed DOJ. The evidence is overwhelming. This question has half of America scratching our heads. We are frustrated and would love to get to the bottom of this. The past

Learn more »

Letter: McClintock picks Trump over facts (opinion)

February 9, 2018 — Are you on my team? The White House isn't an athletic event or a corporate environment. This is not a question the president of United States should ask a senior official of the Department of Justice. That this president felt emboldened to ask this question

Learn more »

Publisher’s Perspective: Parenting in 2018 – Part 4 (opinion)

February 8, 2018 — What do you fear most about raising your child? It's a simple question, yet it evokes complicated thoughts and feelings that can cause unrest for a parent. The answers from the parenting panel ranged from not spending enough time with their kids to the growing

Learn more »

Guest column: The VHR hysteria in South Lake Tahoe (opinion)

February 6, 2018 — An ongoing war is being waged against VHRs, fueled by a very small minority of residents and even a smaller number of onerous VHR renters. It is time to take stock of the facts. VHR Opponents Those residents opposed to VHRs offer a litany of

Learn more »

Letter: Let South Lake Tahoe voters decide on VHRs (opinion)

February 5, 2018 — Are South Lake Tahoe's neighborhoods for sale? Over the last few years our city has allowed out-of-town investors to turn houses into motels and developers to build large scale lodging properties in our residential neighborhoods. The local residents now want a chance to decide if

Learn more »

Guest column: Homelessness and dying with dignity (opinion)

February 5, 2018 — Americans who experience prolonged periods of homelessness die two decades earlier than the average U.S. citizen. As a social worker who ran a program that provided housing to people who met the federal definition of "chronic homelessness," I experienced this first-hand. Over the course of

Learn more »

Ask Tessie: How should I handle slow drivers?

February 5, 2018 — Dear Tessie, Driving to work every morning has become so frustrating with all of the out-of-town drivers clogging up the roads and going 15 mph under the speed limit. We get it, the lake is pretty, but speed the heck up! Any advice for dealing

Learn more »

Kudos: Thanks for supporting Lake Tahoe Basin Fire Academy (opinion)

February 4, 2018 — The Lake Tahoe Basin Fire Academy and Lake Tahoe Community College would like to thank the community for supporting the Fog Nozzle IPA release party and Fire Academy scholarship fundraiser event on Jan. 5 at South Lake Brewing Company. The academy and the college rely

Learn more »

Kudos: Thank you to Bread & Broth AAD sponsors (opinion)

February 4, 2018 — Whether you are attending a Bread & Broth "Monday Meal" as a dinner guest or a volunteer, the feelings generated at the evening meal at St. Theresa Grace Hall are one of happiness and thankfulness. The healthy meals not only provide bodily nourishment, but also

Learn more »

Kudos: Sidestreet Boutique helps with fundraiser (opinion)

February 4, 2018 — Tahoe United '04 Girls Soccer Team would like to send a huge THANK YOU to Barbara and Tara Parina for hosting our Holiday Gift Wrapping Fundraiser. The girls had a great time wrapping holiday gifts and earning money to go toward soccer tournament entry fees.

Learn more »

Guest column: Reflecting on 1 year as president at Lake Tahoe Community College (opinion)

February 3, 2018 — It's a little hard for me to believe, but it has been one year since I became superintendent/president of Lake Tahoe Community College. An incredible amount of crucial work and planning was accomplished in the past 12 months, and I wanted to reach out to

Learn more »

Publisher’s Perspective: Parenting in 2018 – Part 3 (opinion)

February 1, 2018 — Do I or don't I? Yes or no? These thoughts run through a parent's head many times each day. But how much does outside influence affect the answer? Well, it's complicated. I asked the parenting panel whether or not they felt like their child gets

Learn more »

Tahoe Prosperity Center column: #TransformingTahoe

January 31, 2018 — I was inspired this past week by two very different quotes. First, Carl Ribaudo's column on Jan. 25 and his comment: "It is time to change the way we deal with issues. We must move away from who yells the loudest to a new model

Learn more »