Recent Stories | TahoeDailyTribune.com

Recent Stories in Opinion

Letter: Tahoe Coalition for the homeless benefits South Shore community in many ways (opinion)

March 18, 2019 — Many thanks to Dr. Marissa Muscat, Tom Makris, Rachel Yakar and all those who opened the warm room to the public for an interesting and informative tour. The caring concern and hard work of staff and volunteers of the Tahoe Coalition for the Homeless benefits

Learn more »

Thoughts on TRPA’s reversal on Cave Rock Cove pier

March 18, 2019 — It was good to see the Tribune's coverage of the Tahoe Regional Planning Agency and its governing board-level denial of a construction permit for a pier at Cave Rock Cove, (Feb. 28 online story.) The case is interesting partly because the agency seems to have

Learn more »

Kudos: Barton Health delivers quality care (opinion)

March 18, 2019 — Recently, a few people on Facebook have posted complaints about personnel and service at Barton Hospital. I've had a different experience… Frankly I love our little local hospital. From my perspective, Barton has been excellent. I've always been treated with great care, compassion and experienced

Learn more »

Guest column: Sunshine your fundamental right (opinion)

March 15, 2019 — For government to be of, by and for the people it must be out in front of the people. The theme for Sunshine Week 2019, which is winding down, is simply, "It's your right to know." The reason it's your right to know is that

Learn more »

Guest column: Fire protection is an existential issue (opinion)

March 12, 2019 — To most of us who followed the news this past summer, the Camp Fire was a tragedy that unfolded over a week, fought with an army of aircraft and firefighters. The truth, however, is much more dangerous, and our town is much less prepared. In

Learn more »

Ribaudo column: Time to rethink Lake Tahoe’s tourism model (opinion)

March 11, 2019 — Much has been written about the overcrowding on the weekends this destination has been experiencing and how out of control it has become.

Learn more »

Letter: Trying to make contact with family members in Incline Village (opinion)

March 6, 2019 — This letter is for anyone in Incline Village, Nev., who may know my sister, and brother-in-law. My sister is: Mrs. Cathy Jane Edwards. My brother-in-law is: Mr. Tom Edwards. They both reside in Incline,and the last time I saw them they owned and operated the

Learn more »

Letter: Silke Plueger for California State Senate District 1 in the March 26 primary (opinion)

March 3, 2019 — The California Democratic Party and the El Dorado County Central Committee have endorsed Silke Plueger. Her main priorities are: Affordable and accessible healthcare for all Californians, including those in rural areas. Fire resiliency and preparation. Climate change measures that protect our farming communities and winter

Learn more »

Tahoe Ski Bum column: Do we have too many visitors in town? (opinion)

March 2, 2019 — Have we overloaded ourselves with tourism? What do we do when most of our economy is based on tourism and most of us up here make our livelihood on tourism?

Learn more »

Tahoe Regional Planning Agency column: Shaping Lake Tahoe’s future through collaboration (opinion)

February 24, 2019 — We are stronger at Lake Tahoe when we work together. Everyone benefits when people of different interests, backgrounds, and perspectives agree to bring their ideas, energy, and creativity to the table to shape solutions for a healthier, more vibrant, and sustainable Lake Tahoe. Working together

Learn more »

Kudos: Thank you for book drive efforts (opinion)

February 21, 2019 — To the South Lake Tahoe Community: On behalf of the South Lake Tahoe Library I would like to thank those who donated books for the Colusa County Farm Bureau's (CCFB) book drive. The CCFB collected children's books for families and classrooms that lost so much

Learn more »

Guest column: Lake Tahoe Community College 2018 year in review (opinion)

February 20, 2019 — Here are a few of the highlights we want our community to know and feel great about. These initiatives, projects and programs are creating more opportunities for our town's residents and are raising the bar on what can be achieved locally through education.

Learn more »

Tahoe Ski Bum column: County needs to get behind electronic closure plan (opinion)

February 16, 2019 — We are not unique in the fact that traffic apps have been showing shortcuts and causing headaches in neighborhoods, which have become freeways filled with people speeding through them to "save" up to a minute on their commute. We do not have the luxury of

Learn more »

Guest column: Time to roll up our sleeves and get to work (opinion)

February 14, 2019 — What people say they want and what people want are often very different things. For example. In Tahoe people say they want to limit VHRs and tourism, but what they really want is the ability to own homes in quiet neighborhoods, not have to deal

Learn more »

Letter: Community year end food drive organized by the South Lake Tahoe Association of Realtors (opinion)

February 13, 2019 — Throughout the 2018 holiday season, Realtors and members of the community dropped off non-perishable food items to be donated after year end to Christmas Cheer All Year and the Bread and Broth food pantry. As a result, multiple bags of food were delivered to these

Learn more »

Incline Village GM’s Corner: February brings bevy of activities to Diamond Peak (opinion)

February 2, 2019 — Happy February! Ski season is in full swing here at Diamond Peak, and we've managed to have a great start to the season with a little bit of help from Mother Nature. The first week of February typically means we are nearing the midpoint of

Learn more »

Ribaudo column: Ideas for addressing traffic, overcrowding at Lake Tahoe (opinion)

February 1, 2019 — We can choose to keep doing what we are doing or make small changes around the edges, but the size and scope of the challenge has outrun those options. Think bigger in terms of managing tourism or it will manage us.

Learn more »

Letter: Support Energy Innovation and Carbon Dividend Act bill (opinion)

January 31, 2019 — With increasing urgency dedicated scientists are reporting the unfolding crisis brought on by humanity's continued and increasing pollution of the atmosphere and destruction of the balancing ecosystems. Now is time for serious and all out action if ever there was one. To wait will only

Learn more »

Letter: Traffic apps add to traffic woes (opinion)

January 31, 2019 — With winter upon us, technology has reared its ugly head again in the form of mapping apps. During the recent storms, locals were once again subjected to out of town drivers using mapping programs to try to find their way around traffic and clogging local

Learn more »

Kudos: 2018 Festival of Trees & Lights a success (opinion)

January 30, 2019 — On behalf of the Barton Foundation Board of Trustees, staff, and Festival Committee, I want to thank our community of helpers for making the 10th annual Festival of Trees & Lights a spectacular holiday event. Special thanks to the nearly 3,000 people who attended the

Learn more »